Thread: LM Rail

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by GTJim View Post
    Well I've got THK blocks and assumed that I would need thier rails, but if thats not the case all the better.
    Unfortunately not - each manufacturer's blocks will only work with their own rails. I meant that the hole layout and external dimensions are generally compatible.
    Old router build log here. New router build log here. Lathe build log here.
    Electric motorbike project here.

  2. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by Jonathan View Post
    Price for the blocks is about normal:

    http://www.wmh-trans.co.uk/Products/..._BLOCK_SIZE_25

    At the same place 1m of rail is 65+vat. Where did you get those prices?
    I am getting mine from East Europe just like other components that are cheaper, some of them are about 50% of a price of UK suppliers.

  3. #13
    GTJim's Avatar
    Lives in Coventry, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 2 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 8-9 years. Has a total post count of 110. Received thanks 3 times, giving thanks to others 20 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by vigen20 View Post
    I am getting mine from East Europe just like other components that are cheaper, some of them are about 50% of a price of UK suppliers.
    Hi vigen, where about do you get your THK rail from. As I was looking for a pair of LM rails approx 1500mm long suitable for SHS25 bearing blocks and similar length pair of rails suitable for SHS20 bearing blocks.
    Jim

  4. #14
    Hi GTJim

    http://stores.ebay.co.uk/FA-SYSTEM_L...34Q2ec0Q2em322

    As posted in another thread a while back I've bought a couple of used profile rail and bearing sets from the above link. Been happy with the service and component quality. These are all used, hence the fairly reasonable prices.

    If you are patient on ebay you may find cheaper, but if you want to get on with it then have a look through their store.

    Thanks
    Building a CNC machine to make a better one since 2010 . . .
    MK1 (1st photo), MK2, MK3, MK4

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to routercnc For This Useful Post:


  6. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by chip View Post
    ive took a chance and bought some used rail off him sr15 for my y and z,just need the right lengths for my x axis to come up and im on my way..
    Should have waited and bid on it...his prices are OK but you'll do much better by bidding, unless you're really tight for time. What length rail did you get for Z?
    Old router build log here. New router build log here. Lathe build log here.
    Electric motorbike project here.

  7. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by chip View Post
    yes i should have waited,too impatient ,im not even sure it will be up to the job, i bought a little over 400mm for the z and about 1200mm for the y with the mind to cutting it down if need be as i still cant committ to a size of machine or design.
    Don't cut it - use the extra length to space the bearings out further. Normally the force on each bearing is inversely proportional to the spacing, so you want to space them out as far as you can (within reason, assuming what they're mounted on is stiff) to reduce the load on each and thus reduce the deflection. I got two 1150mm (hiwin HGH15) rails for my Y-axis, which is only 760mm travel but I wont be cutting the rails.

    Quote Originally Posted by chip View Post
    ive only managed to find 1 working machine using it on his z and y axis,great little machine but he has 4 lengths of sr15 on his y axis alone.
    He's probably used 4 as unlike most of the good rails the SR series does not have an equal load rating in all 4 directions - http://www.thk.ru/cataloguespdf/sr-300e_cc.pdf ... but since you've already bought them I wouldn't worry about it - any profile rail is going to be a huge amount more rigid than the SBR20 rails you currently use.
    Old router build log here. New router build log here. Lathe build log here.
    Electric motorbike project here.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Jonathan For This Useful Post:


  9. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by chip View Post
    thanks jon
    just got to source some 20mm rail for the x then i can crack on.
    What length do you need for X? I wouldn't worry about finding 20mm for your size machine and what you're cutting, 15mm will still be fine. You would get marginally better stiffness with larger rails, but I'd put money on other aspects of the machine contributing a greater error than the difference between 15mm and 20mm rails. There's no significant disadvantage to using bigger rails though, so if you do find some cheap then why not...

    Quote Originally Posted by chip View Post
    i was just looking at the korean chaps shop,i didnt get the option to bid or make offers,he must have knocked that on the head.
    I meant just search on eBay (worldwide) in general. Rails long enough for Z and Y come up quite regularly, but you might struggle for X.
    Last edited by Jonathan; 28-06-2012 at 06:50 PM.
    Old router build log here. New router build log here. Lathe build log here.
    Electric motorbike project here.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Jonathan For This Useful Post:


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. DIN rail and fittings suppliers
    By Neale in forum Marketplace Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19-05-2014, 10:14 AM
  2. Tsk profile rail preloads?
    By totts in forum Rails, Guideways & Bearings
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-04-2014, 07:44 PM
  3. WANTED: Supported rail. The bigger the better
    By r0bsk1 in forum Items Wanted
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-07-2013, 07:50 PM
  4. Open Rail, open source linear rail?
    By Musht in forum Open Source Designs & Plans
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15-06-2012, 12:21 PM
  5. Supported rail or other?
    By lateAtNight in forum Rails, Guideways & Bearings
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 14-11-2008, 02:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •