. .

Thread: Hello All

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hi All
    My name is Pete
    New to the CNC world , in fact I am just starting out , I have a HPC Laser and Quite a well kitted out workshop/blaster/bandsaw/planers/stone tools and am right in to that and now I want to understand CNCs as I want one to work stone with one

Pete

2. Hi Pete and welcome.

I know nothing about working stone with a CNC except a) it needs a sturdy machine cos stone is hard stuff (I did watch my granite worktops being cut n polished on a big one; very noisy, very messy) and b) it needs copious amounts of water...

I'm not aware of anyone else CNC'ing stone so it could be an interesting learning curve for us all...

Hi Bud
    When I get it sorted I will post up a few photys or videos But having Probs with machine supplier just now but patience is a virtue so the Mrs says

Hi Pete ..welcome.. I have been thinking about soft / soap stone milling .. so I'll be very interested to see how you get along.

Seeing somthing done with stone would be new here thats for sure, looking forward to seeing what you come up with.
    .Me

Hi All
    The tooling i used on my milling machine at work and on my pillar drill at home was a diamond encrusted bit off the shelf part, and what i found was as long as the feed rate was slowed down enough and I had water continualy cooling the bit and then recycling the water back to the bit it worked very well.
    The milling machine I used at work was a Toss and an adapter fitted to take a M14 size cutter , I paid £1000 for the old Toss to use in the Quarry and a job came in for a crap load of steps for an art college and I won the Job and that scared the crap out of me as I had never tried the old engineering mill out on stone but she done the job without a problem and earned £28,0000 on her first stone job but that was working nights as well .
    As all things I suppose ,,,,,,high speed and slow feed or something like that.