. .
    Hello

I'm new to cnc. I bought Geoff Williams book a while back and am now about to build my first cnc router. Wondering if the plans in the Williams book are out of date re; electronics etc.

I will be using the router to machine violin fronts and backs and maybe necks as well, propeller blades too.

I also want to be able to machine aluminium HTD pulleys and am wondering could I do it on the cnc machine described in the Williams book and if not would I need to install a fourth axis....and if so where to go for information.

Anyone got the g-code for propellers/violins/htd pulleys or where to find it?

I know thats a big order but thanks in advance if you can help.

John

Never heard of him or the book.! What's it called.?

Can you give us some details, things like Size, construction material and the electrics he's suggested. A picture would really help.

To be honest the Electrics are easy really and depending on a few factors like Budget and machine size then the choice can be narrowed down to a small selection of modern equipment.

Regards the pulleys then to do them properly a CNC router really ain't the best tool for the job.?
    The problem comes from a few factors but mainly boils down to the spindle and machine strength.! To make good pulleys you'll want a form tool and that will need slow spindle speeds which most router type machines don't have and it's quite hard and very expensive to find a spindle that can do both high speed for routing and slow speeds for milling.
    Then the machine needs to be very tall to allow the 4th axis, which you will need, to fit and give clearance for tool etc. This compromises the machine strength making the Z axis need to have a very long extension for when it's a router cutting thinner material. A long Z axis flex's giving poor finish quality.