. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi all,
    im new to Diy CNC'ing in general & finally bit the bullet & started ordering parts for my own 3-axis router. i started ordering the parts looking at the Target'ed work envelope & pretty soon i realized that it would be better if i start building the machine around the Spindle. therein lies my problem as i would like to mill metal & i would appreciate some help from you guys collective experiences.

at the moment im researching brushless motor choices against:
    1. power requirements(W)
    2. Suitable Kv(RPM/V)
    3. power source (coupling matched pairs in series &/or parrellel to reach the target motor operating range- not necessarily motor max)
    4. shaft diameter & coupling method(ie:- replacing the motor shaft with the collet shank / end-to-end-lovejoy type / threading the motor shaft & screwing it into the collet shank) ect.

as a compromise for spindle stability vs bearing RPM Max vs target RPM for metal, i figure a 12mm shank dia was a good starting point so i went ahead & bought a "C12 ER16 100mm collet chuck shank" along with 2 matching single row a/c bearings & a radial bearing(good for 20k on oil).

im hoping i'm on the right track so far,

im really hoping you guys can point me in the right direction on the points listed, and any others i need to be aware of. how would you go about tackling this build?
    hopefully this will turn out into a dedicated build log.
    Thanks,
    Kevin

http://www.mycncuk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=3793

That thread may interest you!

Many of the larger motors are around 500kv, these motors allow you to replace the motor shaft with the collet system.

You can use higher kv spindles but their diameter reduces and the vibration obviously becomes worse and needs balancing.

Another good spindle totally re made to test your engineering skills,

http://www.dieselrc.com/projects/cncspindle/