. .

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Lives in Tampere, Finland. Last Activity: 28-08-2014 Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 12.
    Hi,

This is my first foray to CNC world. Hi all! I'm an electronics designer and tinkerer. Recently I acquired SMD reflow capability to my lab. After some test runs, I built my first real board. It had 450 components on it, which I manually placed. No way I want to do that again! This, and because it will be a fun project, I'm also going to try a pick and place machine. My goals:

- The machine is targeted to a prototype lab, only a few or maybe just one board at a time. So, no real need for feeders at this point.
    - Accuracy and speed must be significantly better than hand placement, but not more.
    - Can place loose components. In fact, if the machine asks the user "put R13 (22k) on pickup spot", user does so and the machine then looks at the pickup spot and can pick up the part and put it where it really belongs, I'll be very happy! There would be very little setup needed for my one-offs.
    - I'm limited in my machining capability and even more with tools. So, the more I can use off-the-shelf parts, the better.

I'm comfortable with software and electronics, but as noted, a real NOOB in machine building and CNC. Therefore, I would appreciate any feedback and improvement ideas. So, may I present for you to ridicule: JuKu's first CNC desing, the pick and place contraption. The attachment is a picture about what I have so far, the PDF is the same in zoomable and rotateable form. Btw, the PDF is much clearer by selecting solid outline viewing mode.