. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Hi all
    Im fairly new to the world of cnc'ing so please forgive me!

I am just after some advice really.
    I intend to cut carbon fibre sheet, and perhaps alloy 7075 sheet both no thicker than 5mm.Most of the time the max thickness will be around 2.5mm, but i just wanted to have the capability if need be.

Im going to want to make quite a few "production runs" once i get the hang of everything , the setup needs to be able to handle this without having to have me " babysit " it all the time.
    I can do most things in cad/cam , i simply have not yet had the chance to work with a milling machine itself yet.

I plan on making parts for perhaps flatland BMX and RC models , perhaps some small automotive items too.
    A part i'd not mind having a go at creating would be bike sprockets. <---See my avatar for something similar ! I am part of the flatland bmx community, being able to make quality parts to put back into the community would be great. Obviously i also understand the big companies put serious R&D into their products, whereas i may not. Don't shoot me for trying though !

Im obviously going to need a fairly sturdy , reliable and accurate machine for this.
    Any recommendations?
    I have had a look at the marchantdice and shirline milling machines, however i doubt they will be durable for this sort of app.

I hope my budget range is good enough. And yes i have already accounted for the PC and software required.

Thanks for your help !!!!

Also checkout " homepage " on my profile, there is a pic showing you what flatland bmx is. Pretty crazy eh? These aresome of the lightest, best engineered bikes you can get, most of the bike is fully cnc'd , has titanium axles , kevlar beaded tires etc !
    My last setupd cost well over a grand, which lets face it, is a lot for a bike with no brakes or gears haha

Best regards
    Mark
    Last edited by xchipx; 18-01-2009 at 05:36 AM.