. .
    Hello,

This is my First Posting.I am a complete Novice on all things CNC, any help or advise would be greatly appreciated. I hope to buy my first cnc machine before Christmas, I wish to do 3D Wood Engravings, The Software for this ,is very expensive,as I say ,I am a complete learner,is there anyone who could put me in the right direction , for Software that would suit my needs, that does not cost a arm and a leg? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Yours Kindly Paul

Hi Paul, when you say 3d wood carving do you mean on a 4 axis CNC ? People tend to get confused with 2D and 3D? 3D would be something like a Knight Chess Piece where the subject is rotating at the same time being milled. 2D is flat bed work say letters on a plaque.

Fiction is far more plausible when wrapped around a thread of truth

Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

Hi Paul, what do you class as an arm and a leg? Vetric is pretty reasonable in terms of cost.
    Neil...

Build log...here

Quote Originally Posted by njhussey View Post
    Hi Paul, what do you class as an arm and a leg? Vetric is pretty reasonable in terms of cost.
    when i started my CNC journey it quickly became apparent that you could buy the best constructed and most accurate machine in the world and it would be wasted without good software, many people have found free software that does the Job But as you said i found V-carve from Vectric very reasonable and an ideal platform to start to be able to produce commercial grade Products,

Take a look at this link and see if this is the sort of thing you are after producing..

VCarvePro Wood Gallery

Rick