. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lives in Stockport, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 30-03-2023 Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 491. Received thanks 71 times, giving thanks to others 29 times.
    Hi all.

I've been planning my CNC build for an age now - you know how it is, back and forth... I'm a total novice so apologies if this sounds silly... Some of the plates I plan to use in the construction simply won't fit under my pillar drill for edge drilling - obviously I need any holes that are drilled to be central and squared to the plate... I had a think over the weekend and came up with a guide block:

Is this method feasible?

Thanks for your time guys.

w./
    Last edited by Wal; 07-01-2013 at 01:45 PM.

Can't see why it won't work.
    But would be quicker to make 2 with different internal bore diameters. Also quicker to swap from one to the other.

Lives in Stockport, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 30-03-2023 Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 491. Received thanks 71 times, giving thanks to others 29 times.
    Yeah, a one-piece would work I guess, and possibly be the better option.

Cheers.

w./
    Last edited by Wal; 07-01-2013 at 01:48 PM.

Fair enough.
    If its an on going job with lots of different sizes being made, would it not be wise to invest in a pillar drill instead?

Yep, got a pillar drill but not a floor-stander, the trouble is that some of the work simply won't fit and there's little point in me blowing hundreds on a new drill that won't get that much use... Even if I swung my existing pillar over the edge of the bench I'd still be having to mess with clamps/supports in the hope of getting a hole drilled square. Just thought this would be a nice simple solution to my problem.

Cheers.

w./
    Last edited by Wal; 27-11-2012 at 04:03 PM. Reason: Typo