1. #1
    dudz's Avatar
    Lives in Bretagne, France. Last Activity: 20-05-2017 Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 256. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 50 times.
    I think I have got the hang of Cambam now with wood, and I'm not to bad with Mach3. I wanted to do a test on a small piece of Aluminium 8mm thick. 1mm @ 550mm/min 12-13K , Feed plunge +30 (4mm single face endmill) and Z zero set. First I used one of the pocketing wizards in Mach.
    When I pressed the cycle start on Mach3, the endmill plunged hard into the alu , it seemed far to hard, so I pulled the Z up, and inspected the piece. Very rough circular hole, 1mm deep. Doesnt seem like it wanted to cut at all. What am I doing wrong here ?
    Another thing. In cambam it asks for plunge feedrate. What should this be set to for alu ?

  2. #2
    Don't plunge into Ali it knocks hell out the machine and cutter.!!

    That feed rate is a bit slow for 4mm SF try 800mm/min has a starting point. Not sure what feed plunge +30 means.? But in any case plunging into Ali is a bad idea and far better to either spiral or ramp down to depth before cutting. I spiral down slow around 300-400mm/min in Alu.

    Here's 2 bits of code to try using a spiral entry both same except ones conventional milling and the other Climb milling so you can see difference.!
    cutting 50mm Dia circle, 3mm deep, 1mm Doc, 4mm S-flute cutter, 15000rpm, 800mm/min, 400mm/min spiral down. Z zero top of material.

    Edit: Rapid height =10mm
    Attached Files Attached Files

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    dudz's Avatar
    Lives in Bretagne, France. Last Activity: 20-05-2017 Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 256. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 50 times.
    Ah, OK........Thought there must be something wrong. I will try the codes this week and let you know my results.

    Thanks !
    3 axis CNC/router / Alu profile frame....25mm Alu Cutting bed X=500mm Y=300mm Z=110mm.....Supported 25mm X rails ....Supported 20mm Y rails....Supported 20mm Z rails.....2.2kw Chinese WC spindle......"USB Breakout Board Interface 200KHz"....M542 Drivers..SY60STH86-3008BF Motors...running....Mach3 / Cambam / Emachineshop.

  5. #4
    dudz's Avatar
    Lives in Bretagne, France. Last Activity: 20-05-2017 Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 256. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 50 times.
    I have not tested this yet, as I am changing my X axis rails and cutting bed.

    Using CamBam, how do you set the cutting profile to "spiral down" instead of plunge ? I cannot find any way of setting a "spiral or ramp" down move. The plunge feedrate is set as default to 300. The only thing I can find is the menu "Lead in move" with the 3 settings....Spiral angle / Tangent radius and Lead move feedrate. I haven't got a clue how much to set these at (if this is it) and/or if I need to change the plunge rate to 0 ??
    3 axis CNC/router / Alu profile frame....25mm Alu Cutting bed X=500mm Y=300mm Z=110mm.....Supported 25mm X rails ....Supported 20mm Y rails....Supported 20mm Z rails.....2.2kw Chinese WC spindle......"USB Breakout Board Interface 200KHz"....M542 Drivers..SY60STH86-3008BF Motors...running....Mach3 / Cambam / Emachineshop.

  6. #5
    Sorry don't use Cam Bam so not much help.! The fact the lead in move has a spiral angle option suggests it does but how I've no idea.! Sure it will be a simple selection option.?
    Are you using the free version.? If so then it may be disabled.

  7. #6
    dudz's Avatar
    Lives in Bretagne, France. Last Activity: 20-05-2017 Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 256. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 50 times.
    Yes I am using the free version. I have posted the same question in the Cambam forum. Thanks anyhow
    3 axis CNC/router / Alu profile frame....25mm Alu Cutting bed X=500mm Y=300mm Z=110mm.....Supported 25mm X rails ....Supported 20mm Y rails....Supported 20mm Z rails.....2.2kw Chinese WC spindle......"USB Breakout Board Interface 200KHz"....M542 Drivers..SY60STH86-3008BF Motors...running....Mach3 / Cambam / Emachineshop.

Similar Threads

  1. Setting rapids in CamBam
    By swisscheese in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2014, 02:30 PM
  2. Hobby-CNC Workflow - SKETCHUP + CAMBAM + MACH3
    By WandrinAndy in forum Computer Software
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-10-2013, 02:53 PM
  3. Mach3 / cambam
    By dudz in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-04-2013, 06:02 PM
  4. Drilling Acrylic with CamBam
    By m.marino in forum Machine Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-06-2012, 04:45 PM
  5. How do i make this in cambam?
    By motoxy in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2012, 06:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •