Thread: Spindle Stop?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by manofgresley View Post
    Hi Guys

    Thanks for your contribution so far, but i think there is still some misunderstanding, to answer a previous question, my Mill is powered from a Standard 13 amp 3 pin outlet. I have enclosed my BLOCK diagram of what is actually the condition of my system now, I have 3 different 3 pin 240 vac supplies, all with there own 10 amp fuse, if Mill blows fuse due to overload condition, cabinet and PC are still Powered.

    Attachment 7897

    Regards

    Ray
    Ok then change it to this, Job Done.. if you can that is..

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slide1.JPG 
Views:	123 
Size:	59.1 KB 
ID:	7898

    Rick
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Ricardoco For This Useful Post:


  3. #12
    Hi Rick

    That looks great many thanks, IYHO what would be the best way to divide the 240 supply, my thoughts are a 240 volt busbar in the cabinet, with a tap off to the Mill and a tap off to the rest of the cabinet.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slide8.JPG 
Views:	133 
Size:	14.8 KB 
ID:	7899
    Regards

    Ray

  4. #13
    Or perhaps you could use a switched fused spur to feed a double sockect

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Clive S For This Useful Post:


  6. #14
    Ray I wouldn't put the Mill spindle and the Control box on the same fuse.? If the spindle bogs down and just happens to draw a bit more power when the steppers are working hard then the combination of control box and spindle could trip the fuse. Where's on there own fuse's the Mill spindle will handle the Bog and continue without affecting the control box.

    If you want true safety use a relay system to shut the other down. This way both protect each other in case of failure or power loss and the relay in control box will stop the spindle if it goes offline and vise versa the spindle relay will inform the Control box it's failed which will then stop things in a controlled manner turning off or killing power to other important attachments and halting Mach3.

    You can also control the spindle ON/OFF thru Mach3 and G-code in a similar way.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  8. #15
    Quote Originally Posted by manofgresley View Post
    Hi Rick

    That looks great many thanks, IYHO what would be the best way to divide the 240 supply, my thoughts are a 240 volt busbar in the cabinet, with a tap off to the Mill and a tap off to the rest of the cabinet.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Slide8.JPG 
Views:	133 
Size:	14.8 KB 
ID:	7899
    Regards

    Ray
    As jazz has pointed out using a relay (with the correct rating)is really the best way, but if not then have their own fuses. But the first is preferred as there is a higher degree of control when using a relay. Rick
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Ricardoco For This Useful Post:


  10. #16
    Hi, many thanks for all the advise, it's now getting heavy (I am a retired Mechanical engineer) but i do not give up easily, forgive me a few more questions.

    Hi Jazz, what is a Bog ?
    Would a drawing of a relay schematic be possible from anyone, as I read drawings ok, sometime the written / verbal passes me by.

    Regards

    Ray

  11. #17
    Quote Originally Posted by manofgresley View Post
    Hi Jazz, what is a Bog ?
    Ah ah probably a Yorkshire saying.!! . . By this I mean if Spindle comes under heavy load from sticky material or hard spots and starts "Bogging down" on speed and increasing the Amp load on fuse.

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  13. #18
    I know this is a simple take on things but here is a circuit that does the job..

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	interlock.jpg 
Views:	133 
Size:	103.5 KB 
ID:	7905

    If anyone has a better circuit post it up so we can help this chap out LOL

    Rick
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln

  14. The Following User Says Thank You to Ricardoco For This Useful Post:


  15. #19
    Hi Rick, are the latching switches just for lamp indication, if yes can i get rid of them, don't want to make it to complicated yet.

    Regards

    Ray

  16. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by manofgresley View Post
    Hi Rick, are the latching switches just for lamp indication, if yes can i get rid of them, don't want to make it to complicated yet.

    Regards

    Ray
    the switches do have lamps in them but they are not required, the switches are there to latch the relay on so when power is lost to either relay it unlatches and stops the other supply, like an interlock circuit one is dependant on the other.

    The switches i have used are on off two button switches one NO and one NC, the NO switch gives power activating the relay and hence giving power through its contacts to itself and the NC switch is used to break the circuit de-energising the relay.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	switch.jpg 
Views:	115 
Size:	44.3 KB 
ID:	7907


    You could of course use two seperate switches per relay one momentry NOand one momentry NC. Im just lazy and opted for the one with a light in it... (i like lights!!.. before someone else chimes in)..


    Rick

    if your on a tight budget let me know and ill post over a couple of switches without lights FOC..
    Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any other - Abe Lincoln

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. E-STOP Circuit - will this cause any problems?
    By birchy in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 18-12-2012, 04:35 AM
  2. I promise I will stop asking daft question soon. Ish.
    By D.C. in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 15-10-2012, 11:37 PM
  3. wiring e-stop button
    By deannos in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14-01-2012, 11:03 AM
  4. End mill depth 'stop' rings
    By HankMcSpank in forum Tool & Tooling Technology
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 24-02-2010, 02:03 AM
  5. Wiring in power and E-stop on DIYCNC Board
    By m.marino in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2009, 10:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •