. .
    Hello folks,

Complete newbie to the CNC world here, I am about to embark on my first project and will be buying a Super X3 Mill in the next week or so. I will be using the mill to make the motor holders etc before stripping the machine for the upgrade, but in order to make the mounts I will need to motors.

I have read the stories of rubbish eBay kits and have seen lots of people recommending parts from the US but that’s no good to me. Anyone have experience in converting these machines? Or point me in the direction of a suitable set of stepper motors?

If anyone knows a good UK supplier that can provide a full setup or at the least some matched components it would be much appreciated.

Lives in East Lothian, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 3 Days Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 2,908. Received thanks 360 times, giving thanks to others 8 times.
    I'm surprised nobody has replied to this.

I'd suggest some high power Nema 23s motors, or lower power Nems 34 motors. The benefit of using the smaller motors is that you'll generally get better acceleration, and on lower voltage (50V) drives. If you go Nema34, then you really need to get higher voltage (70-80V) drives to get the most out of them, which adds a fair bit to the cost.

I'd do a search over on CNCzone to see what others are using size/power wise, then see what options are available in the uk.

Didn't see this other wise would have replied.!! . . . . Just about every X3 I've seen use's 34's.
    Was at some ones place other day who has the factory built X3 and that had 34's on it.!

Accel/Speed won't be problem with 34's for a mill and the extra torque would help when going gets tough.! . . .That said I wouldn't be worried using 23's either so I'd say either or.