. .
Page 19 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast
  1. #181
    Quote Originally Posted by Voicecoil View Post
    I'm thinking of adding a slight enhancement to the "pump switched by VFD" thing by sticking a flow sensor in the return line to the reservoir driving a relay. It's then pretty easy to sound an alarm if the pump is energised but insufficient water's flowing.
    If going to that trouble I'd be more inclined to fit the temp sensor on the spindle than worry about water flow. Or have both work together.

  2. #182
    One other thing that should be done is to replace a power connector because the one that comes with 2.2kW spindle is not rated to 10A, but to something way below it.
    About a month ago my HY VFD went up in smoke due to an arc that went across pins of my spindle power connector.
    Today I'm looking at a new Altivar 320 to replace it and I need help with setting it up Altivar 320 VFD + ESS Smoothstepper + Mach4 + Gecko G540
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	connector.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	42.2 KB 
ID:	26977  

  3. #183
    One other thing that should be done is to replace a power connector because the one that comes with 2.2kW spindle is not rated to 10A, but to something way below it.
    About a month ago my HY VFD went up in smoke due to an arc that went across pins of my spindle power connector.
    There is nothing wrong with the connector.

    If the plug is not fitted correctly or is loose or a wire falls off the vfd will blow up. Always fit a cable strain clamp to the Z axis.

    Never unplug the spindle or put any switch in thee cable from the vfd when the vfd in on.
    Last edited by Clive S; 07-01-2020 at 09:38 AM.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  4. #184
    Wal's Avatar
    Lives in Stockport, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 19-06-2020 Has been a member for 8-9 years. Has a total post count of 469. Received thanks 57 times, giving thanks to others 25 times.
    +1 on what Clive has to say.

    Happened to me recently - I was using a cable clamp so it had me scratching my head for a bit - turned out I had an oversized blob of solder on one of my pins that shorted against the inside of the connector's sleeve. Was purely luck that it hadn't done that before - I'd recently moved my machine into a new workspace and had to unplug and re-assemble everything - something moved and I wasn't as lucky this time around... Made quite a pop!

    Wal.

  5. #185
    ericks's Avatar
    Lives in ALDINGA BEACH, Australia. Last Activity: 2 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 1-2 years. Has a total post count of 72. Received thanks 9 times, giving thanks to others 1 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by Green Apple View Post
    One other thing that should be done is to replace a power connector because the one that comes with 2.2kW spindle is not rated to 10A, but to something way below it.
    About a month ago my HY VFD went up in smoke due to an arc that went across pins of my spindle power connector.
    Today I'm looking at a new Altivar 320 to replace it and I need help with setting it up Altivar 320 VFD + ESS Smoothstepper + Mach4 + Gecko G540
    You are correct, some suppliers supply undersized/under rated connectors. Full load current of a three phase motor is not split between phases. However your spindle might never draw the full load current. But if your motor is rated for say 10A that means ten amps per phase and you should have a cable and plug that is rated minimum 10A...:)

    ...just to add, a loose connection is obviously something that will likely damage any connector no matter the current rating

  6. #186
    Kitwn's Avatar
    Lives in Exmouth, Australia. Last Activity: 4 Hours Ago Has been a member for 2-3 years. Has a total post count of 585. Received thanks 78 times, giving thanks to others 15 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by Wal View Post
    +1 on what Clive has to say.

    Happened to me recently - I was using a cable clamp so it had me scratching my head for a bit - turned out I had an oversized blob of solder on one of my pins that shorted against the inside of the connector's sleeve. Was purely luck that it hadn't done that before - I'd recently moved my machine into a new workspace and had to unplug and re-assemble everything - something moved and I wasn't as lucky this time around... Made quite a pop!

    Wal.
    A good reason for putting Hellerman or heat-shrink sleeving over each pin/wire.

    Kit
    Engineering is the art of doing for ten shillings what any fool can do for a pound.
    Wellington.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Kitwn For This Useful Post:


  8. #187
    Quote Originally Posted by ericks View Post
    You are correct, some suppliers supply undersized/under rated connectors. Full load current of a three phase motor is not split between phases. However your spindle might never draw the full load current. But if your motor is rated for say 10A that means ten amps per phase and you should have a cable and plug that is rated minimum 10A...:)

    ...just to add, a loose connection is obviously something that will likely damage any connector no matter the current rating
    I have fitted well into the 100's of these Chinese spindles and I've had ZERO fail due to the connectors not being able to handle the load.
    In my experience, the only weak link (other than being lower quality to brand names) with these spindles/VFD's is a lack of cable restraint. Both at the Spindle and the VFD you need to restrain the cable so the don't move around. I've only ever had 3 fails with connector faults and all of them where because the cable restraint I'd fitted had been left unconnected after the customer had moved or adjusted spindle etc and not fastened cables back up.

    It's common sense really. . . which isn't so common these days.!

  9. #188
    Kitwn's Avatar
    Lives in Exmouth, Australia. Last Activity: 4 Hours Ago Has been a member for 2-3 years. Has a total post count of 585. Received thanks 78 times, giving thanks to others 15 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by JAZZCNC View Post
    It's common sense really. . . which isn't so common these days.!
    Oh yes, yes, yes, yes!!!!
    Engineering is the art of doing for ten shillings what any fool can do for a pound.
    Wellington.

  10. #189
    ericks's Avatar
    Lives in ALDINGA BEACH, Australia. Last Activity: 2 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 1-2 years. Has a total post count of 72. Received thanks 9 times, giving thanks to others 1 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by JAZZCNC View Post
    I have fitted well into the 100's of these Chinese spindles and I've had ZERO fail due to the connectors not being able to handle the load.
    In my experience, the only weak link (other than being lower quality to brand names) with these spindles/VFD's is a lack of cable restraint. Both at the Spindle and the VFD you need to restrain the cable so the don't move around. I've only ever had 3 fails with connector faults and all of them where because the cable restraint I'd fitted had been left unconnected after the customer had moved or adjusted spindle etc and not fastened cables back up.

    It's common sense really. . . which isn't so common these days.!
    From your reply i would say you are unaware of proper wiring and component selection requirements :)

  11. #190
    Quote Originally Posted by ericks View Post
    From your reply i would say you are unaware of proper wiring and component selection requirements :)
    I seriously doubt that Jazz is unaware of anything to do with CNC.

Page 19 of 23 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 3 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 3 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Chinese Spindles
    By Ricardoco in forum Generic Chinese Spindles
    Replies: 123
    Last Post: 04-12-2016, 11:16 PM
  2. Info on Chinese suppliers, their reliability and reputation
    By Want2build1 in forum Marketplace Discussion
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 07-12-2013, 08:37 PM
  3. NEW MEMBER: Seeking advice on a CNC setup for (one off) machining carbon fiber plate
    By Tomcat in forum New Member Introductions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2013, 12:43 PM
  4. Chinese spindles
    By Colin Barron in forum Marketplace Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 23-08-2011, 07:58 PM
  5. Chinese 1.5kw Spindles
    By jcb121 in forum Generic Chinese Spindles
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 28-07-2011, 05:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •