. .
    Hi Guys,

Can anyone recommend a company or individual that might be able to machine some parts out of aluminium at a competitive rate? I've tried a few companies near to me, but they either aren't interested in doing one offs or quote a silly price. I basically want some angular contact bearings set into a block of aluminium with a few mounting holes.

Thanks,

Adam.

You're probably best off posting in the RFQ section, detailing what you need with a drawing. It sounds like something I could make, but I can't be sure or give a price without first seeing a drawing.
    Old router build log here. New router build log here. Lathe build log here.
    Electric motorbike project here.

It sounds like something I could make, but I can't be sure or give a price without first seeing a drawing
    Thanks Jonathon, its basically the bearing side of the revolving ballnut design. I'm working on a drawing, but I'm not very good with the 3d stuff at the moment... Its really just an aluminium block approx 110 x 110 x 60 with an 80mm bore either side to take 2 angular contact bearings. Oh, and I need 2 of them please...

I've just put some dimensions on some drawings I started, Hope you can understand them ok:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bearing block front elevation.png 
Views:	361 
Size:	12.0 KB 
ID:	8454Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bearing block side elevation.png 
Views:	390 
Size:	9.9 KB 
ID:	8455

Not surprised your getting high quotes. It looks like a simple part on face value but start to think of how to machine it and your looking at working on up to 3 different orientations, 2 of which would require a a double sided jig to ensure the bearing recesses are aligned to a high tolerance.

My advice would be to redesign the part otherwise you'll either pay a lot or I can't imagine anyone on here taking it on for peanuts.