. .
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by tommegna View Post
    I would like to get MACH 3 or MACH 4 Software but i'm not sure of the hardware? I have a UC100, is this all I need to connect to a 3040t cnc with a paralell interface, using Mach3 or Mach 4? Please tell me what I need hardware to run either Mach 3 or 4!
    Thanks!
    Nebe
    Tom Megna
    Don't need anything too powerful. Any PC capable of running XP upwards with the parallel port will work. Personally I would go with a PC running Win7.

  2. #12
    Neale's Avatar
    Lives in Plymouth, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 5 Hours Ago Has been a member for 6-7 years. Has a total post count of 1,306. Received thanks 252 times, giving thanks to others 5 times.
    If you are using a UC100 then you don't even need a parallel port as the UC100 connects via USB. The UC100 also means that PC power/speed becomes pretty irrelevant - if it runs Windows 7 or later (XP if you have to!), then it will almost certainly be OK for Mach3 and a UC100.

  3. #13
    thanks for the help! All of this is new to me and very confusing! Is Mach 3 hard to learn?
    Thanks,
    Tom Megna

  4. #14
    Neale's Avatar
    Lives in Plymouth, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 5 Hours Ago Has been a member for 6-7 years. Has a total post count of 1,306. Received thanks 252 times, giving thanks to others 5 times.
    Classic problems with Mach3 are getting the ports and pins set correctly and getting the motor tuning (speed and acceleration) set up. However, that's something that you will need to do with any motion control software. After that, Mach3 isn't that difficult to use. There are the odd classic gotchas like remember to hit "Return" after entering a numeric value but all things you get used to. Biggest single "operational" issue is probably getting to grips with work and machine coordinate systems. You have to understand these to make proper use of the machine. Again, not a Mach3-only issue - true for all motion control systems. However, once you get to that point there are plenty of people here to handhold you through the processes.

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Neale For This Useful Post:


  6. #15
    Like Neale says the setup of pins etc and knowing coordinate systems applies to all controllers. I build a lot of machines for first-time users and mostly running Mach3. The reason I use Mach3 is that it's easy to use and while true it's not supported anymore there is still a massive user base if anyone needs help. The fact it's not supported by Artsoft isn't really a problem because mach3 is very well fettled and once the machine is set up there is no need to mess around updating etc. If it works leave it alone and I've yet to find a machine it doesn't work with.!

    It's common for new users to be overwhelmed by all the options and buttons but after the machine is set up, which is a one-time deal, then there is very little to set up a job and cut the part. Within 60mins a complete novice with Zero experience of CNC can be working the machine cutting parts.

    Setting the machine up is a bit more involved but that's where we can help. Just ask.

    Edit: You may not be aware that you can download Mach3 and run it in simulation mode without being connected to the actual machine. I tell all my customers to do this as they can run G-code they created and learn how to set up a job just as if it was on the machine.
    If you set up the motor tuning etc just like the machine would be set up then mach3 doesn't know or care if the machine is there or not. It will cut the part virtually and stop for tool changes etc just like it would for real. It will show cut time and prove your code.
    Last edited by JAZZCNC; 1 Week Ago at 07:36 PM.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Minimum PC requirements
    By manofgresley in forum Computer Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26-10-2013, 04:33 PM
  2. Stepper Driver requirements?
    By Dwayne Dibbley in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24-07-2013, 05:29 PM
  3. AVON 2200 CNC VERTICAL MILL power requirements
    By hlnoob in forum Milling Machines, Builds & Conversions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-04-2013, 08:35 PM
  4. Requirements on a break out board?
    By Sodster68 in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-01-2013, 02:58 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23-02-2009, 09:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •