Thread: Mach3 / cambam

  1. #1
    dudz's Avatar
    Lives in Bretagne, France. Last Activity: 20-05-2017 Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 256. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 50 times.
    Just playing around with cambam while I am waiting for parts for my CNC driver.

    I don't usually have a problem with this. It is probably a very simple one to work out. But I just cant see it.

    I designed a simple table clamp in cambam, and produced the G-code for Mach3. Mach3 sais "Cannot do G1 with 0 feedrate,block G1".
    I went back to cambam and checked. My feedrate is there 800. Spiral down feedrate 350. I set the plunge rate to 0 as I don't want plunge as I am using Aluminium.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cambam.JPG 
Views:	279 
Size:	53.2 KB 
ID:	8603
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	untitled.JPG 
Views:	203 
Size:	34.2 KB 
ID:	8605
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mach3.JPG 
Views:	435 
Size:	148.0 KB 
ID:	8604
    Last edited by dudz; 01-04-2013 at 04:58 PM.
    3 axis CNC/router / Alu profile frame....25mm Alu Cutting bed X=500mm Y=300mm Z=110mm.....Supported 25mm X rails ....Supported 20mm Y rails....Supported 20mm Z rails.....2.2kw Chinese WC spindle......"USB Breakout Board Interface 200KHz"....M542 Drivers..SY60STH86-3008BF Motors...running....Mach3 / Cambam / Emachineshop.

  2. #2
    Plunge means move Z
    No plunge rate means the tool wont move, set it to 350 also.
    John S -

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to John S For This Useful Post:


  4. #3
    dudz's Avatar
    Lives in Bretagne, France. Last Activity: 20-05-2017 Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 256. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 50 times.
    Ah great Thanks.

    Now I have set feed/plunge rates. How do I get Z to drop faster to just above the material then slow down to the plunge rate ? It seems to take forever just to drop near the material
    3 axis CNC/router / Alu profile frame....25mm Alu Cutting bed X=500mm Y=300mm Z=110mm.....Supported 25mm X rails ....Supported 20mm Y rails....Supported 20mm Z rails.....2.2kw Chinese WC spindle......"USB Breakout Board Interface 200KHz"....M542 Drivers..SY60STH86-3008BF Motors...running....Mach3 / Cambam / Emachineshop.

  5. #4
    Sorry Dudz, got a copy of Cambam but not familiar with it, tend to use VCarve pro for speed
    John S -

  6. #5
    dudz's Avatar
    Lives in Bretagne, France. Last Activity: 20-05-2017 Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 256. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 50 times.
    Is V carve pro worth the money ? Always thought it was a bit exp
    3 axis CNC/router / Alu profile frame....25mm Alu Cutting bed X=500mm Y=300mm Z=110mm.....Supported 25mm X rails ....Supported 20mm Y rails....Supported 20mm Z rails.....2.2kw Chinese WC spindle......"USB Breakout Board Interface 200KHz"....M542 Drivers..SY60STH86-3008BF Motors...running....Mach3 / Cambam / Emachineshop.

  7. #6
    Depends on your work.
    VCP is more for wood workers and engraving / sign work but it's very easy and low learning curve. Tends to put tool paths out that dance about a lot and waste a bit of time. However you more than save that time in programming.

    If you have to make say 500 off an item then it better to spend more time programming and save cutting time.

    I tend to use Dolphin for engineering jobs and VCP for what i call simple or arty farty jobs.
    John S -

Similar Threads

  1. Setting rapids in CamBam
    By swisscheese in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2014, 02:30 PM
  2. Hobby-CNC Workflow - SKETCHUP + CAMBAM + MACH3
    By WandrinAndy in forum Computer Software
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 04-10-2013, 02:53 PM
  3. Cambam / milling Alu
    By dudz in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-12-2012, 05:22 PM
  4. Drilling Acrylic with CamBam
    By m.marino in forum Machine Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-06-2012, 04:45 PM
  5. How do i make this in cambam?
    By motoxy in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2012, 06:01 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •