. .
    Peace, Good day every one.

I am resident of Kuwait, bit weak on me English side :) By profession I am an IT Business Analyst, know how to use AutoDesk product, Adobe CS6, March3 (installed to learn and things like G-Code etc for knowledge), technically have sound knowledge of CCTV, Access controllers, Flight Simulations, RC hobby stuff, drafting, photography, can sold wires etc why mentioned all this is? you may know when advising me, I am sure I will understand your technical advises :)

I was looking at 6040 or 3040z 4 axis machines on the net and that is to make parts for my RC 1/10 Car :) and take it from there to engraving and embossing on wood or other material to obtain some work from local market to start my own bread earning business.

Is it possible to take such machine (3040z) apart and make a bigger version of it? I am sure that's the job of controller to make the motors travel on desired distance. How do I go about?

Azhar's Photos

Hi Dr. Panga

Taking an existing, 6040,3040 machine apart to build a bigger machine, I think would be no good.
    About the only thing you would not need to modify is the control electronics & motors.
    The control electronics of those ebay chinese 6040/3040 routers are notoriousy cheap and nasty. Most people replace them immediately!
    Most of the rails,ballscrews,gantry would need to be replaced. You might be able to use some of the bed, but 80%+ of the machine would not be re-used.

I would look at either buying a machine at the right size for your needs, or building your own from the start.
    If you decide to build one, you need to do a lot of reading here, and on other forums, and there are many other web pages giving advice.
    Web searches for "DIY CNC Router", "Self Build CNC Router" are a good starting place.

Hope that helps a bit.

Cheers
    Greeny

Great Photos, by the way!

Thank you so much for the advise, I think I should go for something small to stay in my budget.