. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Just wondering what the consensus is here?!

I think it was Jonathan that said the Chinese spindle were about 80% efficient, so for an 800W spindle surely I'd be looking at a meager 160W heat dissipation, therefore for short jobs (say 20-30 minutes), do I even need to bother with all the pipes plumbing and copious amounts of 'watta'?

My thinking here is the spindle body is one helluva heat sink, as is the spindle mount & the Z axis aluminium backplate...so perhaps for short milling jobs (as I typically do), I might not even have to bother?

Hi, I told you in your other post that I have been running a WC spindle for about 10 years and have never bothered connecting up the water supply. I do keep my eye on the spindle body temp (It only ever gets hand warm, and that after about 30 mins routing. When I bought my machine I was given an instruction book which recommended allowing the spindle to run for about 10 mins before doing any work in order to enable the spindle to warm up!!! If your spindle gets hot in use you need to water cool - if it only gets moderately warm, then as you say there is enough mass to conduct any heat away. That is my opinion anyway. G.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to GEOFFREY For This Useful Post:

I have water cooling, but only turn on the pump if it's doing a long stint. Just having a bit of water in the system may help even if the pump isn't on.

So, I wouldn't worry about not having water cooling. Equally, it's really not that much of a hassle to add water cooling.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to ~andy For This Useful Post:

Hank my WC pump expired and I didn't notice, the machine cut 20mm Ali job for 2.5hrs and still spindle was only just a bit hotter than normal so I wouldn't worry about it for 30min jobs. . . . Put it this way If my pump wasn't switched on By VFD I wouldn't bother for short jobs.!

7. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post: