Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
  1. #31
    Without interrogating a drawing accurately I'd guess at 10mm rad but only cutting over about 6mm of material.
    So guessing it could be formed onto a worn or old 8mm or 10mm cutter, possibly less.

    Basing this on a dimensioned drawing I saw where the gaps between the slats were specified as 4mm.

    Seen various 3d drawings but can't recall seeing a 2D end section drawing

    Last edited by John S; 02-11-2013 at 11:47 PM.
    John S -

  2. #32
    The slots are around 4mm wide, a custom ground cutter is a very practical option, it's highly likely that a standard router cutter might be found and modified for the job,
    Regards,
    Nick

    Edit - I should post faster but I'm watching a film on TV ;-)
    Last edited by magicniner; 02-11-2013 at 11:59 PM.

  3. #33
    Quote Originally Posted by John S View Post
    Without interrogating a drawing accurately I'd guess at 10mm rad but only cutting over about 6mm of material.
    So guessing it could be formed onto a worn or old 8mm or 10mm cutter, possibly less.
    My first thought was the same John about grinding a profile but to stay strictly to the drawing then 3 x Rad would be needed has can be seen from this end profile. . . If can't be changed then thats 3 tools to grind.!!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dims.jpg 
Views:	91 
Size:	50.6 KB 
ID:	10576

    Base Could be done with 9 & 14mm ballnose with part on it's edge but thats then messing around with another clamping op and setup and not everyone has 4th axis.

    Personally If I was doing them, Then For lower base I'd just shoot 9 & 14mm ballnose up each edge and flat mill up centre, obviously done horizontal.
    For the other side it's obvious for slots but the round over then I would grind a tool I think. I'd also make them in longer lengths and cut to size.!!
    This would be very quick and don't think it could be done quicker really.?

  4. #34
    On that lower base there is only 10mm between the two radii, so if you stand the track on its side you could mill the whole of the lower side with one form cutter. Cutter would only be 16 or so mm long.
    Becky want's 190 ??? odd so well worth doing.

    Top done as you say.
    John S -

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-10-2012, 02:50 PM
  2. Mach3 Using a physical button to repeat current gcode
    By RLKS Rob in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-08-2012, 01:30 PM
  3. gcode stops mid way can anyone test..
    By crossleymarko in forum CAD & CAM Software
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 22-04-2012, 12:45 AM
  4. Tapping Gcode
    By Kai in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 14-12-2010, 07:07 PM
  5. PLease help - gcode newbie
    By scotty in forum Programmers Corner
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-03-2010, 12:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •