Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
  1. #21
    Quote Originally Posted by deisel View Post
    thanks again mc the encoders a HP heads-6310 021 a s. from what ive read it does use A & B outputs,id forgotten the schematics on page one so hopefully the pin info is in there
    This thread on CNCzone says it has A,B outputs and an index pulse with 5V supply voltage, so that's ideal. The second schematic you posted has the connection diagram for the encoder. That's sufficient - so long as you still have the same connector on the encoder and know which is pin 1 (i.e. which way round it goes)? If this guy responds that would help if you don't know which way round.

    Edit: Helpful post about these encoders on CNCZone here:

    Quote Originally Posted by fkaCarel @ CNCZone View Post
    From an 1985 HP databook.


    The 5 in 5310 is the size 28 mm diameter encoders. The 3 in 5310 points to ordering info, emitter plate only(?), 0 is a complete kit. The 1 is 3 channel (+index), 0 is no index. The 0 is mechanical configuration, 0.6 mtr flatcable. It must be followed by an option letter for resolution:


    C - 100 CPR
    D - 192 CPR
    E - 200 CPR
    F - 256 CPR
    G - 360 CPR
    H - 400 CPR
    A - 500 CPR
    I - 512 CPR


    additional CPR-codes (6000-series)
    B - 1000 CPR
    J - 1024 CPR


    After this comes a double digit, coding for shaft size, which I leave out for sunday laziness.


    Pinout bottom view:


    Edit: I see that all spaces, that would make the following clear are eaten up, so I will add for each pin (PIN)
    Vcc PIN 2 PIN 1 Channel A
    NC or Ground PIN 4 PIN 3 Ground
    Ground PIN 6 PIN 5 NC or Ground ---With bottom view here the Connector Notch
    Channel B PIN 8 PIN 7 Vcc
    Channel Index PIN 10 PIN 9 Vcc


    Note: all the Vcc's and Grounds must be connected, they function as noise suppression.
    Carel
    Just noticed I've got an old (big) DC-motor with a HEDS-6300 encoder on it, so I'll try it when I've got time...

    Edit 2:
    Found a datasheet for the HEDS-5000 series encoders. I've uploaded it here. From the part numbering mentioned above, it seems that the 6000 series are the same just in a bigger package, so we can probably assume the pinout is the same...check it vs the schematic you posted.
    Last edited by Jonathan; 06-05-2014 at 01:21 PM.
    Old router build log here. New router build log here. Lathe build log here.
    Electric motorbike project here.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Jonathan For This Useful Post:


  3. #22
    sorry jonathan id totally forgotten about the above post.
    Ballscrews fitted,steppers fitted,its almost there.
    Attachment 13508
    Attachment 13509
    Attachment 13510
    Last edited by deisel; 22-02-2015 at 01:46 PM.

  4. #23
    Ive made a start on the electricals /enclosure (photos will be up soon) and decided to go for the DG4S-16035 positioning DC servo drive and a BRKC-180 braking circuit to power the spindle motor..i had come across a few on the zone using these on there mills with no complaints
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	dc servo drive.JPG 
Views:	317 
Size:	51.0 KB 
ID:	13197
    im assuming the heds encoder/blue ribbon will need to be rigged up to this DG drive via one of these differential line drivers in the link http://cncdrive.com/Difflinedriver.html.
    Last edited by deisel; 25-08-2014 at 08:08 PM.

  5. #24
    Had a poke around the spindle motor area took off the wiring cover to reveal the connection block.
    the block is printed with he following wire colours to each letter
    T1 RED
    T2 BLACK
    K1 RED
    K2 BLACK
    A1 WHITE
    A1 BLACK
    B1 RED
    B2 BLACK
    .edited i completely missed the pin out info on the back of the lid so will stick below as I couldn't find it on line edited..what are the K1and K2 wires with the T/0 below it ?
    SEM MT30 U4-48
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	spindle plate 003.jpg 
Views:	224 
Size:	947.0 KB 
ID:	13224.
    Attachment 13223
    Attachment 13216

    second question I have is..
    with me using the heds encoder and plugging that into the dc servo drive as the manual instructs,
    is the optical sensor that sits on top of the spindle and the tach no longer required??
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	lathe 1 018.jpg 
Views:	243 
Size:	705.2 KB 
ID:	13215
    I don't understand why I would need 3 forms of feedback yet they were all installed as standard when the lathe was in its original state.
    Last edited by deisel; 28-08-2014 at 03:48 PM. Reason: removed stammer

  6. #25
    It turns out I don't need to be concerned with anything other than the encoder so I don't need the rest
    im on the wiring next,it wont be pretty.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	turret board 006.jpg 
Views:	514 
Size:	1.46 MB 
ID:	13247
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	turret board 001.jpg 
Views:	492 
Size:	1.32 MB 
ID:	13246
    ive no experience with electronics but I should be ok with wiring the drives getting the motors moving etc
    one thing im struggling with and cant find info on is the tool turret card and the 24v solenoid that operates the turret lock and how/where I would go about wiring these into the pmdx 126 board.
    EDITED Found the info for the board
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	turret board drawings 1.jpg 
Views:	310 
Size:	161.7 KB 
ID:	13264
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	turret board 011.jpg 
Views:	217 
Size:	692.0 KB 
ID:	13242   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	turret board 010.jpg 
Views:	189 
Size:	584.4 KB 
ID:	13243   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	turret board 027.jpg 
Views:	240 
Size:	640.2 KB 
ID:	13244   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	turret board 030.jpg 
Views:	174 
Size:	645.5 KB 
ID:	13245  
    Last edited by deisel; 02-09-2014 at 10:24 PM.

  7. #26
    Quote Originally Posted by deisel View Post
    ..what are the K1and K2 wires with the T/0 below it ?
    thermal overload, over temperature probably
    Last edited by EddyCurrent; 31-08-2014 at 08:43 PM.
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

  8. #27
    right apparently I can use the k1 relay on the pmdx board to work the turret solenoid .
    does the wiring from my turret board to the pmdx look ok in the image below?if so can/should I daisy chain the grounds on the pmdx?
    Ive also received an email telling me as the lathe has a turret I will need either a smooth stepper or a second parallel port.. so im thinking this if anyone has any thoughts on it.http://www.cncdrive.com/UC300.html
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	turret board to pmdx 126.JPG 
Views:	454 
Size:	86.9 KB 
ID:	13314
    Last edited by deisel; 06-09-2014 at 06:28 PM.

  9. #28
    Not sure if the PMDX is common gnd (Edit: Looks like it is) or if the 5V Gnd is isolated from the inputs.? If common gnd it will use the 5V supply Gnd as it's potential ref so won't need jumpers. If not then you will need you to connect the Input Gnd's to 5v supply Gnd's. In either case won't hurt to daisy chain if unsure.
    Same if you use external 5V or 12V you will need to reference Inputs to that supply's Gnd.
    Last edited by JAZZCNC; 06-09-2014 at 05:41 PM.

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  11. #29
    edited now braking for spares.moved on.
    Last edited by deisel; 27-01-2015 at 09:32 PM.

  12. #30
    Getting there :)

    From the video it sounds like the solenoid on the ATC, which holds the tool rack rigidly, is not being activated. Once it's wired up (using a spare relay on the PDMX or an external one, with the 24V psu) you can configure it to one of the outputs then add a line to the vbscript which runs the ATC. For example if you set the solenoid on to output #2 and put the correct pin for the relay, then you just add the line 'DeActivateSignal(OUTPUT2)' to the start of the script to switch the solenoid off so the rack can rotate, then put 'ActivateSignal(OUTPUT2)' at the end of the script to switch the solenoid back on.
    Old router build log here. New router build log here. Lathe build log here.
    Electric motorbike project here.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to Jonathan For This Useful Post:


Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Boxford TUD conversion Mach USB
    By Stucncusb in forum Boxford Lathes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-06-2016, 09:40 PM
  2. Mach lathe spindle speed control
    By GeoffV in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21-05-2014, 08:34 AM
  3. WANTED: Looking for a MKII Boxford duet for conversion to Mach 3
    By BlueBot in forum Items Wanted
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-05-2014, 06:07 PM
  4. DYNA Mechtronics Dyna Myte 3000 lathe
    By deisel in forum Lathes, Lathe Rebuilding & Conversions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2013, 08:05 PM
  5. 800x600 Mach 3 Lathe screens?
    By cooliced in forum Artsoft Mach
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-08-2010, 10:19 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •