. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    So I'm new to cnc and have got a kit machine.

The spindle it comes with is a hi torque spindle, however it only has a 1/8" (~3mm) shank.

I'm thinking of getting a router on amazon and dissecting it and mounting it on the machine to give me up to 1/2" collet size. I'd only really need 1/4" (~6mm) as most decent milling bits come in that size.

my issue at the minute is not making the mounts (I can machine them with the curet spindle) but ensuring the new spindle is straight in the mounts so it cuts straight down and leaves straight edges on pockets etc.

Any tips on how to do this?

And actually how to get the profile of the new spindle for the mount (cut from wood by hand first maybe?)

Quote Originally Posted by Cncparts View Post
    So I'm new to cnc and have got a kit machine.

The spindle it comes with is a hi torque spindle, however it only has a 1/8" (~3mm) shank.

I'm thinking of getting a router on amazon and dissecting it and mounting it on the machine to give me up to 1/2" collet size. I'd only really need 1/4" (~6mm) as most decent milling bits come in that size.

my issue at the minute is not making the mounts (I can machine them with the curet spindle) but ensuring the new spindle is straight in the mounts so it cuts straight down and leaves straight edges on pockets etc.

Any tips on how to do this?

And actually how to get the profile of the new spindle for the mount (cut from wood by hand first maybe?)
    You need some slight adustment in the brackets but I would make them as good as you can then mount it all on the machine and with the longest piece of 6mm silver steel in the collet check for square from the bed in X and Y axes using a good quality set/try square. This will show you where the brackets needs fine adjustment with a file or similar.

Something like this will give you the profile or just nibbling away at a piece of cardboard until it fits would also work.