. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    What is the recommended method of supporting the metal to be cut?

would small angle be any good if fitted with the v-point upwards or is strip on edge better?

this is is a small table about 600x600
    Last edited by Davek0974; 06-02-2014 at 07:31 PM.

I'm no expert on these but from what I can see most use strip on edge.
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

3. The Following User Says Thank You to EddyCurrent For This Useful Post:

Lives in East Lothian, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 1 Day Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 2,908. Received thanks 360 times, giving thanks to others 8 times.
    What Eddy said.
    Usual setup for plasma, is strip on edge, that sits in slots in a bar going at 90degrees. That way once the strips get too cut up, it's just a case of lifting them out, and putting in new ones.
    Some are set up so the slots are wavy, that way they're held under tension so they're less likely to move, plus it means you're far less likely to end up with a long cut following a support/strip.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to m_c For This Useful Post:

Hmm, was only thinking angle as I have a fair bit.

also, is the support area earthed to the chassis of the machine and do you connect the plasma ground to the support strips or direct to the metal being cut?

Lives in East Lothian, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 1 Day Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 2,908. Received thanks 360 times, giving thanks to others 8 times.
    You can use angle if you want, but remember it's sacrificial so you want it to be relatively easy to replace.