. .
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hi first time poster here.

I'm looking to create a new business this business involves cutting small pieces of cardboard around 3 and 7 mm thick into complex shapes.

I have a very modest budget of £500 I recovered a quote from a company staying that £500 wouldn't even cover the cost of the software and that £7k is a more realistic budget.

I really want to start this company but I have no chance if the CNC machine is going to cost anywhere near £7k.

I am a marine engineer to trade and don't mind making this a DIY project I just want to know if it can be done for my tiny budget ?.

Thanks

Hi welcome to the forum,

Do you have a sample pic of the type of cutting you wish to achieve.

Have you heard of maker spaces or fab labs, this might be a good way of accessing/(hiring time on) machines at a low cost to see if your bussiness is viable. This way you can also try out different machines to see what you might want to buy or build. There is a big variety of machines out there, laser cutters, 3d printers, routers, mills, etc
    CNC routing and prototyping services www.cncscotland.co.uk

ADD ME ON FACEBOOKS

Quote Originally Posted by gavztheouch View Post
    Hi welcome to the forum,

Do you have a sample pic of the type of cutting you wish to achieve.

Have you heard of maker spaces or fab labs, this might be a good way of accessing/(hiring time on) machines at a low cost to see if your bussiness is viable. This way you can also try out different machines to see what you might want to buy or build. There is a big variety of machines out there, laser cutters, 3d printers, routers, mills, etc
    Hi Gav

thanks for the quick reply , I don't have any pics as of yet was hoping to try and prototype with my own personal machine , basically its cardboard cut outs got nurseries and stuff so little teddy bears, guitars that sort of thing , maybe even some 3d creations with cardboard.

i saw this video http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=P8jbtRTV6uw