. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lives in London, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 04-11-2014 Has been a member for 7-8 years. Has a total post count of 6.
    Hi,

I'm new to CNC machining and have just bought one of these Chinese 3020 machines. I'm happy with the build quality and cutting ability for what I need to do, but I have a problem with the size of the things I'm cutting with it.

The Problem:
    The items I cut with it are not the correct size!

Basically, when I'm trying to mill a hole of 10mm, it comes out as ca. 9.8mm. When I mill a hole of 80mm, it is pretty much spot on (that's strange...). When I mill a square, of 50mm, it comes out at 49.7ish mm... However, a 100mm square came out as 100.3/100.4mm...

What's confusing me:
    It's not a linear increase of the deviation. It's always around 0.2-0.4mm.

My setup:
    I'm using Mach3 and gcode that was generated by HSMexpress in Autodesk Inventor.

The steps/mm are set as per instructions and when I'm moving the axis individually, it is quite accurate. Not spot on, but at the same time I probably introduce measurement errors myself.

What I tried:
    • Changed the dimension of the cutting tool setting in Mach3 and HSMexpress. Didn't help.
    • Changed feed rate, spindle speed and acceleration. Didn't help.
    • Tried different positions on the curring table. Didn't help.
    • Checked that the axis scaling in Mach3 is 1.00.
    • Checked for backlash/shaky axes. Everything seems to be alright.

Has anybody come across a similar problem before or knows, what the cause might be?
    I tried searching the web and this forum for hours already but haven't found a solution...

Many thanks

Clemens

I'll post up my settings later, they are a bit different from what was in the instructions files. TBH I don't fully trust the instructions. Maybe you are losing steps due to bad settings.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to richie00boy For This Useful Post: