. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    I'm totally new to all this machine design and concept of building a CNC router but here's my thoughts and concepts, not to mention questions. First the media I plan to cut/route typically would be MDF, UDF, Acrylic, Sintra board; basically your typical sign building components. Working envelope either 48"x48"x6" or 48"x96"x6", I'm designing and budgeting for the larger one but will resize if figures get away from me. Here are a couple key questions, One given material options for constructing the gantry and it's support structure from should I use MDF or Corian both are wood working tool compatible and require no special skills I do not already have. attached is a pdf of my concepts granted x-y-z cars are not complicated designs but should suffice for my cutting needs. Please advise as to thoughts and suggestions.

Thanks in advance,
    Richard Morton
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails CNC Router overall plan.pdf  

Hi PixelsnPrint
    Welcome to the forum
    My only knowledge of CNC construction/building has come from following the threads and reading the build logs, but if funds allow i would forget about using wood or plastics as construction material, Ally profile is an option but this can get expensive and you will find that steel box section is your cheapest route. For the sort of duty you are looking @ you could get away with round supported rail. Have a look through the build logs and you will get a better idea of the way ahead, and if possible post a sketch up detail drg and the lads will put you on the right track.
    Regards
    Mike

Lives in Plymouth, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 5 Hours Ago Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 1,726. Received thanks 295 times, giving thanks to others 11 times.