Page 24 of 29 FirstFirst ... 142223242526 ... LastLast
  1. #231
    PAULRO's Avatar
    Lives in LIMERICK, Ireland. Last Activity: 4 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 178. Received thanks 2 times, giving thanks to others 198 times.
    cheers Jazz.

  2. #232
    Ok well looking at the manual again then Gary is correct and you do need to supply the Bob with 10V for speed control, which is poor IMO but not a problem.

    Regards the Relays I think you may need to change SW1 to Off and work in Enable Mode not Charge pump mode for the Relays to work correctly.
    The manual isn't very clear on this but that's what I think it's trying to say.? . . . . Give it a try and see what happens.

    The way the Spindle should Start & Stop is with issuing M3 for CW, M4 for CCW and M5 to stop from G-code or MDI. Or with on screen button or F5.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  4. #233
    I think the service is slipping Dean, expecting people to wait one hour. ..Clive

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Clive S For This Useful Post:


  6. #234
    Quote Originally Posted by Clive S View Post
    I think the service is slipping Dean, expecting people to wait one hour. ..Clive
    It's not my fault Pizza man is slow driver.!!!!

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  8. #235
    PAULRO's Avatar
    Lives in LIMERICK, Ireland. Last Activity: 4 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 178. Received thanks 2 times, giving thanks to others 198 times.
    your making me hungry now. time to get a pizza on,if threre's any left. cheers jazz

  9. #236
    PAULRO's Avatar
    Lives in LIMERICK, Ireland. Last Activity: 4 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 178. Received thanks 2 times, giving thanks to others 198 times.
    i 'm having no success with the spinde control from Mach 3 . i think i have all the settings correct . i have looked online for a basic run down of the set up because i'm a complete novice but cannot find a suitable '' VFD to MACH 3 '' for dummies!! if i could at least get my basic understanding of how the various bits communicate and interact i might be in a position to fault find further , so i'm going to list my understanding of how i think it all interacts and hopefully if i am wrong or have left any thing out i can be put straight...........

    1 ... change PD001 from 0 to 1... on VFD

    SPEED CONTROL
    2...connect GND from XP24(PWM on BOB) to ACM GND on VFD
    3... connect FIV from XP24( PWM on BOB) to VI on VFD
    4... connect +10v from XP24 to +10v on VFD.
    the 10 v signal is from VFD to BOB for speed control. (courtesy of Jazz)



    START /STOP
    5... relay on BOB ( COMMON TERMINAL) to DCM on VFD
    6... relay , BOB ( N.O. ) to FOR on VFD




    MACH 3 OUTPUTS
    i had 3 outputs left from 12 on the XP21 ( LPT PORT) pinout
    I used pin 14 for the PWM (output 1) and pin 16 for RELAY 1 ( output 2)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_7659.jpg 
Views:	48 
Size:	253.6 KB 
ID:	15400   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_7658.jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	230.8 KB 
ID:	15401   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_7656.jpg 
Views:	44 
Size:	234.1 KB 
ID:	15402   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	XP21  PIN OUT.png 
Views:	43 
Size:	35.6 KB 
ID:	15403  
    Last edited by PAULRO; 21-05-2015 at 02:31 PM. Reason: images did not load

  10. #237
    PAULRO's Avatar
    Lives in LIMERICK, Ireland. Last Activity: 4 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 178. Received thanks 2 times, giving thanks to others 198 times.
    here is my spindle set up
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	spindle set up.png 
Views:	41 
Size:	25.6 KB 
ID:	15399  
    Last edited by PAULRO; 21-05-2015 at 02:54 PM.

  11. #238
    PAULRO's Avatar
    Lives in LIMERICK, Ireland. Last Activity: 4 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 178. Received thanks 2 times, giving thanks to others 198 times.
    output signals set up ,
    ouput 1 = port 1, pin 14 , active high
    output 2=port 1 , pin 16 , active high.
    ( if i toggle the active high to active low on this output, the spindle comes on .


    my motor ouputs tab is a stumbling bolck for me , should i enable the spindle ?
    i have it enabled on this tab , step pin 14, i don't know what DIR PIN to use because i have only 1 output pin ( 17) left and that's a relay .

    is this my problem . thanks in advance
    Last edited by PAULRO; 21-05-2015 at 03:07 PM.

  12. #239
    I've just been chastised on the phone by Clive S for letting my level of response drop to a below an acceptable level. . . . . . . Very sorry.!!

    Give me 20 mins and I'll try to make sense of what's happening or not happening and suggest a few things.

    Tell me whats happening or not happening as of now.? Does the spindle start/stop when you push spindle CW (F5) button.?
    Last edited by JAZZCNC; 21-05-2015 at 03:26 PM.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  14. #240
    PAULRO's Avatar
    Lives in LIMERICK, Ireland. Last Activity: 4 Weeks Ago Has been a member for 4-5 years. Has a total post count of 178. Received thanks 2 times, giving thanks to others 198 times.
    no , the spindle will only start if i tick the active low setting of the start relay ( pin 16) on the output tab. then it starts before i get to apply the changes to that tab ??? if you follow my drift? i have tried an m3 , S2000 , on the MDI TAB and if i toggle the spindle button (F5) The buttons blinks intermittently , but nothing happens, the output signal current state on the Diagonistic tab binks on / off also...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MACH.png 
Views:	30 
Size:	31.0 KB 
ID:	15404  
    Last edited by PAULRO; 21-05-2015 at 04:03 PM.

Page 24 of 29 FirstFirst ... 142223242526 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. NEW MEMBER: Hello everyone. Total newbie here. Where do I begin?
    By DarkWalkJRB in forum New Member Introductions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-02-2012, 08:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •