. .
    I came to this forum because I was thinking of a chinese 6040. Learnt that they are not up to serious work, and now requirement creep has set in.

I'm hopeful that there is someone local that will help me build a machine, I've got a name to call. I want to avoid getting too sucked into the building side of things, this is a tool and I have a job to get on and do with it.

What I'd like is a 3 axis router, for use on wood sheet, with a travel of 1200 x 800. I'll also use it for small plastics parts needing up to about 100mm of Z travel.

I don't know what metrics you use here, but the workload could be something like 8000 cm3 of chipboard/mdf per day (About 30mins ?)

So, can you give me an idea of cost?

State your assumptions regarding help I might get from this local chap or from forum members :)

I'm a theoretical engineer (haven't actually touched metal since apprenticeship), a woodworker, a programmer, and I have a (crappy) metalwork lathe.

PS. my same post in RFQ was a mistake, I'd like to blame it on a forum glitch but probably I was just tired.

Quote Originally Posted by jimbowley View Post
    PS. my same post in RFQ was a mistake, I'd like to blame it on a forum glitch but probably I was just tired.
    Lol np, ill get it removed for you.

I'd say about 2k will get you a decent enough machine, tap into other members in the RFQ section and you never no.

.Me
    .Me

I'll assume that everyone agrees with that price. And I'm quite happy with it. So where do I go next?

Do I start a machine build log and ask all my question in there?