. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi
    Im new to CNC machining and come from a non-electric background , but ive purchased a power supply with connections for only live and neutral wire. Does this mean i wont need my device earthed hence my mains plug has got to only have live and neutral inputs? If so, can i use a spare plug in my house and cut of the earth wire in order to use it?
    Thanks

Got a link to a picture of it ?
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

4. No, you must mount the supply in a metal box with all the rest of the kit, Bob, drivers, etc. The earth wire goes to a good connection on the box so it forms a protective screen around the kit. Do a forum search for 'star point' for more information on how and why. Never ever run cnc kit without an earth.
    Last edited by irving2008; 02-07-2014 at 06:46 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Skydeals View Post
    Hi
    Im new to CNC machining and come from a non-electric background , but ive purchased a power supply with connections for only live and neutral wire. Does this mean i wont need my device earthed hence my mains plug has got to only have live and neutral inputs? If so, can i use a spare plug in my house and cut of the earth wire in order to use it?
    Thanks
    The power supply you linked to does not require an earth BUT the case or box that you mount it in will need to be earthed. If you are using this with stepper motors etc. Use screened cables like CY 4 core and connect all the screens at the control box end to a star point (ie one fixed point) and all other earths to that same point including the machine frame, which is then connected to your main earth.
    If you are not happy with wiring 230V then ask for help from somebody that is. ..Clive

Sorry what do you mean by all the screens and how do I connect all the screens from the control box end to one point. Do I have to use a certain cable?