. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi i want to build my own Toroidal power supply. I have 3 50v max drivers i need it to power , So im thinking it needs to be about 42v . But i have no idea what parts to by. This will be my first toroidal supply So any pointers towards what parts i need to get would be cool? Im a heating engineer so know my way around a multimeter so i should be ok with the build. I just need to know what to get and where to get it from ?

thanks Mick

Lives in Marple Stockport, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 14 Hours Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 3,333. Received thanks 618 times, giving thanks to others 78 times. Made a monetary donation to the upkeep of the community. Is a beta tester for Machinists Network features.
    Quote Originally Posted by amxen View Post
    Hi i want to build my own Toroidal power supply. I have 3 50v max drivers i need it to power , So im thinking it needs to be about 42v . But i have no idea what parts to by. This will be my first toroidal supply So any pointers towards what parts i need to get would be cool? Im a heating engineer so know my way around a multimeter so i should be ok with the build. I just need to know what to get and where to get it from ?

thanks Mick
    I answered this here http://www.mycncuk.com/threads/7871-...6040-problems? post 58. ..Clive

3. Don't forget input side fuses, mains connection socket, a bleed resistor across the capacitors, some sort of 'mains on' and/or 'volts out' indicator and relays etc to tie it into your eStop arrangement.

Hi Clive the links don't work any more they changed the site. Also I don't need 50v that's a bit much for my drivers.

Hi,

there are no big price differences between toroid and switched-mode power supplies anymore.

I'd always use a switched-mode power supply for CNC machines because they offer some advantages: