Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by charlieuk View Post
    many thanks for that the dust mite was what i was looking at using, how did it perform with foam? i was worried very light foam may stay airborne and just run all the way to the vacuum? do you think the cyclone drops the power of the vacuum? is your henry have the high and low settings?

    best regards charlie
    Charlie, It performed well with the foam, I didn't find any traces in Henry anyway. My first machine was used 90% for cutting foam sheets (EPP and Styrene) over a 5 year period, I know how messy it can be! I would think it would work well for your purpose provided you can keep the vacuum inlet fairly close to your foam.

    The cyclone has no noticeable difference on the power of the vacuum. I've got one of the newer Henry's with the Hi-Low setting switch and rarely switch it to full power. I imagine on your machine you're going to have quite a distance of plumbing between the inlet/dustshoe and the cyclone. I'm not sure if this distance has an effect on the suction. I do know that smooth walled pipe will give you better flow than ribbed hoses.

    You may want to consider earthing the plumbing too. Mine creates quite a bit of static and makes my hair stand on end if I lean over the bed on my machine lol.


    Dean, I wasn't sure whether Clive was setting me or you up, or whether he was having a 'senior moment' :p It's probably just payback as you were a day late getting to his place cos of me lol.

  2. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by firetrappe View Post
    Dean, I wasn't sure whether Clive was setting me or you up, or whether he was having a 'senior moment' :p It's probably just payback as you were a day late getting to his place cos of me lol.
    Nah's he's a Star Man is our Clive and sharp as razor blade even thou he's older than Yoda. It's those Sangria's bringing out is wicked sense of humour. . .Lol

  3. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by firetrappe View Post
    Charlie, It performed well with the foam, I didn't find any traces in Henry anyway. My first machine was used 90% for cutting foam sheets (EPP and Styrene) over a 5 year period, I know how messy it can be! I would think it would work well for your purpose provided you can keep the vacuum inlet fairly close to your foam.


    The cyclone has no noticeable difference on the power of the vacuum. I've got one of the newer Henry's with the Hi-Low setting switch and rarely switch it to full power. I imagine on your machine you're going to have quite a distance of plumbing between the inlet/dustshoe and the cyclone. I'm not sure if this distance has an effect on the suction. I do know that smooth walled pipe will give you better flow than ribbed hoses.


    You may want to consider earthing the plumbing too. Mine creates quite a bit of static and makes my hair stand on end if I lean over the bed on my machine lol.




    Dean, I wasn't sure whether Clive was setting me or you up, or whether he was having a 'senior moment' :p It's probably just payback as you were a day late getting to his place cos of me lol.
    Cheers many thanks that's a great help I have run a tube siystem when I shaped by hand so the distance seams fine I will probably get a cyclone and put it on a large blue chemical barel as they are vey strong however I do also have a idea to have a smaller barel with a trap door underneath that allows emptying into a large sack nice and easy.


    I cant have the vacuum to close as the bits are quite long and they have to cut quite deep. I'm wondering if I can make something that makes a bit of a cyclone erect comeing out of the dust shoe to help get the foam up from further away perhaps.

  4. #14
    Clive S's Avatar
    Lives in Marple   Stockport, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 12 Hours Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 5-6 years. Has a total post count of 2,309. Received thanks 403 times, giving thanks to others 35 times. Made a monetary donation to the upkeep of the community. Is a beta tester for Machinists Network features.
    Charlie I know nothing about vacuum systems but this is a good read. http://billpentz.com/woodworking/cyclone/ also there is a spread sheet here staticcalc.xls ..Clive

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Clive S For This Useful Post:


  6. #15
    Greeny's Avatar
    Lives in North Yorkshire, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 4 Hours Ago Has been a member for 8-9 years. Has a total post count of 102. Received thanks 12 times, giving thanks to others 7 times.
    Hi Charlie

    There is an 'improved' version of the ebay cyclone (a bit more expensive) at
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Omni-Dust-...item2a4622d1fe

    video at
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kMmN...ature=youtu.be
    Looks pretty good.

    Looking forward to seeing the first boards coming off your machine.
    Greeny

  7. #16
    Cheers yea that what I had my eye on

  8. #17
    After a bit of experimenting I have ended up going with a high velocity low pressure bag style vacuum unit I got used of eBay nice and cheap and local. I thought this was the best solution because the foam dust is so light and the hvlp units are nice and quiet. The only thing now is trying to decide how to run the vacuum hose and in what size. The unit will be at one end of the 6meter table so can't decide if to run a solid pipe to the centre and then come down some how with something flexible or to have flexible the hole way on some sort of curtain rail type thing
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	115 
Size:	280.5 KB 
ID:	14026  

  9. #18
    You want 4" pipe minimum I would think, 6" even. I would use solid pipe as much as possible, people use the 4" soil pipes. Flexible pipe has ridges where the metal spiral is and this restricts flow.
    If you use plastic pipes you need to wrap some earth wire around them to drain static away, some people have experienced explosions.
    Last edited by EddyCurrent; 09-12-2014 at 10:26 PM.
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Need More Suction on the extraction
    By adamh in forum Dust Extraction & Collection
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-07-2014, 10:37 PM
  2. Cyclone extraction
    By gorbo in forum Dust Extraction & Collection
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17-04-2014, 05:36 PM
  3. Dust and Chip extraction for large matrix table machining centre.
    By gavztheouch in forum Dust Extraction & Collection
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-05-2013, 10:03 PM
  4. What CNC Router and Extraction will suit my needs?
    By flightcase01 in forum Gantry/Router Machines & Building
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27-08-2011, 11:00 AM
  5. Workshop dust extraction...help!
    By Jonathan in forum Machine Discussion
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-01-2011, 07:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •