. .
    Hi All,
    Just a brief introduction.

I am a newbie/novice to the CNC world, not 'green' as I have built a machine resembling something like the one from the MyDIYCNC site as an introduction to the hobby. It worked of sorts except when I attempted to cut a PCB. Unfortunately the axis drive & mechanics were too slack, had backlash, drivers too poor, missing steps, all of which which resulted in the 1mm wide tracks being reduced to zero. Not a good outcome for a PCB!!

Financial considerations have meant building on a budget.
    The setup is:
    4 axis stepper driver (TBA6550)
    Recycled steppers
    24v PSU
    LinuxCNC

I have also played with the trial version of CamBam too.

When I started trying to fix the problems, a friend offered an engraving machine (table = 26" x 13") without the engraving head/ Z axis components at a very reasonable price which I couldn't and didn't refuse.

So the current project is to build a new Z axis system with an 800W water cooled spindle + VFD

I have come up with a design and I have started cutting parts. 1 down, loads to go.

As a newbie I mainly lurk on sites like this as I do not have the experience or skills to add any comment which will be of any real value to anyone else.

Regards,
    Barry.

Quote Originally Posted by philcobt View Post
    As a newbie I mainly lurk on sites like this as I do not have the experience or skills to add any comment which will be of any real value to anyone else.
    Hi Barry welcome,