. .
  1. Hi, sorry I am new to the cnc world and have just built my first cnc from kit form. I have calibrated the machine but there is still a couple of issues I have with it.

1. The Z axis will not go upwards if the UCCNC cutting program is running any higher than 20% of normal speed, so the cutter just keeps digging in further and further.

2. For some reason the machine will cut a completely different path on the first stepdown to the second and third stepdown resulting in odd cutting patterns, see image below. Running the program in demo mode seems fine but for some reason when its talking to the machine something goes wrong.

Any help on these matters would be gratefully appreciated, thank you.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20141210_180143.jpg 
Views:	2242 
Size:	558.6 KB 
ID:	14037  

Post some shots of the settings in UC and give some info on machine setup, Ie drives, Micro stepping, voltage screw pitch etc.

Check all wire connections to the drives etc as it's not uncommon for poor connections to cause irratic movements like this.
    Also check any mechanical connections like stepper/screw couplers etc.

The differant paths can only be the same paths just that you have probably lost positon thru missed steps etc so machines lost and wandering around.

Last edited by EddyCurrent; 11-12-2014 at 06:09 PM.
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

4. Quote Originally Posted by EddyCurrent View Post
    Thats it. Although I believe half the problem is that the wrong plates where sent out so there is 4mm play along the Y axis. I am now being sent replacement plates.

I will also double check all the wiring, thanks.

5. Here is the setup of the Z axis. Is there anyway I can slow just the Z axis down so it only runs at 20% and the rest to run at 100%? Sorry I dont know much about the settings to change them at the moment.