. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi there,

Has anyone built a machine that is capable of milling/engraving plus laser cutting/engraving plus 3d printing?

I have just started to build my machine which i wanted to use for the three main uses of a cnc machine, I have been trying to find anyone who has built a machine that does all three to try and get some of the problems they came across during the build.
    Looking around different site's/forum's i cannot find and one who tried it and what either stopped them from finishing it or what main problems they came across, i cannot find a 3D printer that runs direct from a PC they all seem to be run via a Arduino plus one of the many shields like:- RepRap, Makerbot, Ramps, Mendel is there a way of doing it direct from the PC or do i have to fit two control method's and just switch from one to the other.

if anyone has any ideas of how to sort it out i would love to hear from you.

This is my first attempt at building any sort of CNC machine I took a guess at what sizes i wanted and had decided that i would have X any Y axis at 420 mm and the Z axis at 250 mm but now i have started to build it i think i went a little to large as I am building it on my kitchen table as i do not have any other space to put it (I need a larger home but the local council would not consider moving me to a larger place just so i have a hobby room) I am lucky that i live alone so no one else is going to give me a hard time over it taking over the kitchen.

up to now i have just fitted the x axis linear rails, stepper motor and lead screw i have almost all the items to finish the main frame build it will take me a while to finish it as i am disabled and for around half of my days i cannot even get out of bed never mind try building something like this. this is a list of the main items i have bought to build it with:-

stepper control system
    http://www.aliexpress.com/snapshot/6...64511875404208

usbcnc breakout board