. .
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Hi Everyone,

first let me say that I'm a total noob compared to you all but willing to learn if you guys advise me.
    I have already bought parts based on recommendations from this forum and have the design in my mind and hopefully will state all my plans here. I'm sorry I'm not a pro in using cad programs so I can't show you any designs but that's something I'm planning working on.

My extent of experience in CNC machines is building up a shapeoko2 (upgraded to 1x1m) with stock parts, though that machine is doing well for what it is, I wan't to make my own rigid machine.

My main aim is to be able to cut guitar body parts from wood like alder,maple,basswood etc.
    Being able to cut alum/acrylic/plastic for projects would be a big plus, and achievable I imagine.

based on my requirements I decided on this size as I don't see me needing more than that work area (even less) and would happily trade the extra size for more precision/accuracy,stability and rigidity.

this is just a placeholder, will post more

Thank you!

Hi Noplace

Download Sketchup; its free

there are LOADS of videos all over youtube showing you how to do everything... bit of patience and you'll get there

you'll be so pleased youve learnt it aswell.. its so useful for so much other stuff

keep us posted...

Good luck with the build, always makes me nervous when someone posts that they've bought parts and they've not posted a design for all to critique....

With regards to drawing, Sketchup is free and good for playing about so you can see how things might go together.
    Neil...

Build log...here

Thanks for the Sketchup suggestion, I have dabbled at it before but ill give it a more focused go now.