Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    Bez's Avatar
    Lives in Berkshire, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 21-02-2015 Has been a member for 1-2 years. Has a total post count of 5.
    Nice one :) I like pictures like that ....... its like painting by numbers lol

  2. #12
    Bez's Avatar
    Lives in Berkshire, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 21-02-2015 Has been a member for 1-2 years. Has a total post count of 5.
    Thanks for your help guys its all up and running now :)

  3. #13
    rbs's Avatar
    Lives in Uk, london, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 09-07-2016 Has been a member for 6-7 years. Has a total post count of 15.
    Hi guys,


    I just bought the KKO1 BOB, I'm trying to to hook it up to the DIYCNC spindle board and then onto the VFD so i can have Mach 3 Control. I would also like to use the spare relay from the KK01 for on/off of a vacuum table lets say. Is any one able to confirm the wiring it correct. I really don't want to blow up any more components. the two links below are for the manuals. many thanks



    pic host


    https://www.mediafire.com/?rc61wkf8r4m4or6

    https://www.mediafire.com/?rc61wkf8r4m4or6
    Last edited by rbs; 05-03-2015 at 06:42 PM.

  4. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by rbs View Post
    Hi guys,


    I just bought the KKO1 BOB, I'm trying to to hook it up to the DIYCNC spindle board and then onto the VFD so i can have Mach 3 Control. I would also like to use the spare relay from the KK01 for on/off of a vacuum table lets say. Is any one able to confirm the wiring it correct. I really don't want to blow up any more components. the two links below are for the manuals. many thanks



    pic host


    https://www.mediafire.com/?rc61wkf8r4m4or6

    https://www.mediafire.com/?rc61wkf8r4m4or6
    Hold on ! Looks like you are switching the spindle on and off at the mains input to control it. If you want to start and stop the spindle this is not a good idea! Leave the VFD powered directly from the mains all the time and control it using the green inputs on the control panel - the row of small terminals above the mains and spindle connections.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2638.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	163.7 KB 
ID:	14818


    Here is the schematic:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	VFD_wiring_pins.JPG 
Views:	99 
Size:	55.4 KB 
ID:	14817

    This is how I think it should work:

    Start / stop = connect relay terminals to FOR and DCM. The relay makes or breaks this circuit.
    To get this to work you also need to set PD001 to 1 (from memory) to tell it to use this external control.

    Speed control (manual) = connect a 3 pin potentiometer (say 10k) with one outer pin to VR, the opposite pin to ACM, and the middle pin to V1.
    To get this to work you also need to set PD002 to 1, and set the little jumper (on the right side of the green input panel) to VI to tell it to use the external control

    Speed control (auto with voltage control) = connect 10V from BoB to V1 (as you have drawn it), and 0V to ACM (not as you have drawn it to A1 which is for current control and it looks like your BoB is outputing a variable voltage)
    Building a CNC machine to make a better one since 2010 . . .
    MK1 (1st photo), MK2, MK3, MK4

  5. #15
    rbs's Avatar
    Lives in Uk, london, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 09-07-2016 Has been a member for 6-7 years. Has a total post count of 15.
    Hi OK, thanks for that and the extra info.

    for the interest of this thread I've redone the schematic just so there's no one else following committing to fry their electronics.

    Does this look correct? Many thanks

    free image uploading

  6. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by rbs View Post
    Hi OK, thanks for that and the extra info.

    for the interest of this thread I've redone the schematic just so there's no one else following committing to fry their electronics.

    Does this look correct? Many thanks

    free image uploading
    Hi rbs

    Your new sketch still looks wrong on the speed control part. If the spindle control board is putting out a variable 0-10V to control the speed then in my view:

    + on the board should go to VI on the VFD
    - on the board should go to ACM on the VFD

    Don't connect anything to VR or AI for what you are trying to do.

    Also, note that the manual shows a grounded shielded cable for the control cable (the dotted hoop around the input lines) to reduce interference.


    *If any moderators are reading this it is probably more appropriate to move it to the electronics > VFD section . . .*
    Last edited by routercnc; 06-03-2015 at 10:47 PM.
    Building a CNC machine to make a better one since 2010 . . .
    MK1 (1st photo), MK2, MK3, MK4

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. BUILD LOG: a Steel Box Section Build with SBR20 & Ballscrews Plus a few questions
    By grain_r in forum DIY Router Build Logs
    Replies: 90
    Last Post: 4 Weeks Ago, 09:03 AM
  2. Plasma table build, first question....
    By Davek0974 in forum Plasma Table Machines
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 01-08-2014, 03:11 PM
  3. Wiring Help
    By Toddy in forum Motor Drivers & Controllers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 23-11-2010, 01:48 PM
  4. Limit switch wiring question ...
    By Wobblybootie in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 31-10-2010, 11:06 AM
  5. wiring help
    By ste68blue in forum Stepper & Servo Motors
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 29-07-2009, 10:23 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •