Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
  1. I have been searching online and reading the threads on here but so many names come up I get a bit lost.

    Basically I have just got a little rc drone and I want to cut a few small parts on my cnc I built for cutting my surfboards. It is pretty much going to be a one off job so don't really want to go spending a lot on fancy programs. I am looking for something that can literally just cut these 2d parts out of flat sheet. I do have access to a old copy of auto cad so would be potable to draw it on there but if there was a simple program that did booth then I would prefer that. the surfboard program I use is really nice and simple and does it all in one basically but I cant used it do do anything else.

    any recommendations would be great if any one of the free ones out there?

    below is basically the 3 parts I need to cut
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image.jpg 
Views:	142 
Size:	408.5 KB 
ID:	14705  
    Last edited by charlieuk; 20-02-2015 at 12:54 PM.

  2. #2
    CamBam can do both the CAD and CAM for this job and it has a free trial period. http://www.cambam.info/downloads/ get this version - Version 0.9.8N
    I think you get 40 free uses with the trial period.
    Last edited by EddyCurrent; 20-02-2015 at 01:42 PM.
    Spelling mistakes are not intentional, I only seem to see them some time after I've posted

  3. Cool cheers 40 trial sessions will be plenty

  4. so I ended up drawing it in auto cad as I have used that a bit and I started to follow a you tube vid on how to load the dxf file but as soon as I try it freezes cam bam up and says invalid arc multiple times in the task bar at the bottom? any ideas?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by charlieuk View Post
    so I ended up drawing it in auto cad as I have used that a bit and I started to follow a you tube vid on how to load the dxf file but as soon as I try it freezes cam bam up and says invalid arc multiple times in the task bar at the bottom? any ideas?
    I don't use CamBam But there are open vectors in the dxf I have closed them with Aspire see if this works. ..Clive
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Clive S For This Useful Post:


  7. cheers clive many thanks yes that has worked I will have to try and figure how to do that in auto cad like I say I only have very basic skills. I will now try and carry on with the tutorial.

  8. #7
    I use alphacam and that uses "join", but I believe the same thing in autocad is "unite". Most other peoples DXF files that I use need to be cleaned up a bit AND JOINED to arrive at complete geometries. G.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to GEOFFREY For This Useful Post:


  10. I think im slowly figuring it out! I think I have managed to get the g code in to mach 3 however it seams that the z axis is going the wrong way ie when it should be cutting it raising up and when its not its going down towards the table? I assume there is machine setting some were that need to be changed? I cant see anything along the top at the moment but will have another look with a fresh head tomorrow. thanks


    edit just realized I needed to say - depth of cut.
    Last edited by charlieuk; 21-02-2015 at 01:36 AM.

  11. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by charlieuk View Post
    I think im slowly figuring it out! I think I have managed to get the g code in to mach 3 however it seams that the z axis is going the wrong way ie when it should be cutting it raising up and when its not its going down towards the table? I assume there is machine setting some were that need to be changed? I cant see anything along the top at the moment but will have another look with a fresh head tomorrow. thanks


    edit just realized I needed to say - depth of cut.
    Your Z home zero should be at the top and all Gcode Z moves going -ve Clive

  12. #10
    Quote Originally Posted by GEOFFREY View Post
    I use alphacam and that uses "join", but I believe the same thing in autocad is "unite". Most other peoples DXF files that I use need to be cleaned up a bit AND JOINED to arrive at complete geometries. G.
    Geoffrey (We met at the model show last year) Thanks. Join does work in autocad I don't think unite does. When I use autocad using join it appears to be able to join only one arc at a time (I must investigate further) but in Aspire you can just select all objects and join the lot at once. Clive
    Last edited by Clive S; 21-02-2015 at 09:54 AM.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Basic Frame Design
    By Ross77 in forum Machine Frames & Beds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-01-2015, 01:33 AM
  2. The ideal CNC machine for my (basic)needs?
    By mark84 in forum Machine Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-03-2014, 10:56 AM
  3. NEW MEMBER: Basic 3d milling
    By proddy in forum New Member Introductions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-06-2012, 12:11 AM
  4. Advice on some basic tools
    By GTJim in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22-09-2011, 12:16 PM
  5. Which Basic Lathe
    By graysclassics in forum Milling Machines, Builds & Conversions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-07-2011, 10:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •