. .
    Hi everyone.
    I bought a home-built, secondhand machine just over 3 years ago. I've self-taught myself(was a complete novice) to use it and it has been working fine but now it's broken down and I could do with some advice as to where to start looking/what the problem may be please.
    Machine was running today for about a minute then just stopped. It says E-STOP ACTIVATED. I reset it, pressed 'run program' but nothing happened. I've checked wiring and cleaned all the dust etc out of it about a week ago(had running since then though). The following is some info on my machine:-
    It is a fixed gantry CNC machine
    Overall dimensions
    Wide 800mm, deep 900mm, height 1450mm
    Cuts approx 500mm x 400mm
    Components are:-
    Nema23 keling motors on all axis
    Controller gecko G540
    Running Mach3 program

Regards,
    Al

Start with the PC side:
    -LPT cables- the most likely culprit. had many times problems, check them with multimeter -fine, later problem. basically change the cable to check
    -Mach 3 , clean reinstall with the necessary restarts in between

When you are sure that these before work 100% start messing with the board. Check if all outputs inputs work ok. Especially the one that the Estop is wired to. "ENABLE" from software/ emulate/ if works like that its the cable of the Estop. Dont forget to disable that Estop emulation later.

That should be ok for starters.
    project 1 , 2, Dust Shoe ...

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Boyan Silyavski For This Useful Post:

Depending upon configuration E-stop can be caused by:

Pressing e-stop button(s) - but you've checked this
    Hitting one of the X, Y, or Z limits at the end of travel
    A broken cable anywhere in the e-stop cable run (i.e. failed safe)

On your BOB can you identify which pair of inputs controls the e-stop - it should tell you where to look in the Mach3 configuration port and pins.