. .
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    I'm designing my first router build but I've never used one before and I'm thinking of getting a cheap machine for a project to start me off. I've found an old Connect machine on ebay and thought about changing the control system to more modern standard kit but then I cam across one of these...

http://awsmart.com/product/cnc-aw4-smart/

It has steppers but no electronics or power supply so I would get some experience of wiring, setting up and using a machine before I get let lose on a machine I've invested a lot of time and money on.

I'd look to machine some small guitar parts in wood and plastic along with some small pump clips for the micro brewery I work at.

Has anyone come across these and have an opinion on them?

Bearing in mind I'd be looking to pick it up for under 200 quid and buy the break out board etc on ebay just to cut my teeth on you reckon it's not worth the bother?

If you want to cut chocolate then grab it!

Dean said it in the linked thread. But i will say it other way. Use your common sense. Forget for a second that you obviously know nothing about CNC.