1. #1
    Noplace's Avatar
    Lives in Jerdab, Bahrain. Last Activity: 20 Hours Ago Has been a member for 1-2 years. Has a total post count of 158. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 61 times.
    Hi everyone, In my setup I'm planning on hooking a standard power coord to my VFD, the only concern is that the copper diameter is not as much as I'd like it to be, but this is a standard coord same as ones used for PCs and Workstations. and judging by its rating it should deliver enough power for the VFD, even though the copper core is not that thick, the wires strip by the AWG 16

    is it alright to use this?

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	12-339-139-01.jpg 
Views:	184 
Size:	22.0 KB 
ID:	15313  
    Last edited by Noplace; 13-05-2015 at 06:13 PM.

  2. #2
    You VFD documentation will probably tell you the current draw of the VFD. Some even suggest the cable size.

    My 2.2kW states that it may draw up to 20 amps. Especially during motor startup.

    May I suggest you get an electrician to help you set it up? You should not really just plug it into the wall without making sure that the wall socket you are using is ok for the currents you are going to be seeing. It is a fire hazard otherwise.
    Stocking more goodies than just Smoothsteppers

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to komatias For This Useful Post:

  4. #3
    The ends for such cables are available separately, I'd go for the option of building your own cable, that way you can have manufacturer's specifications for all the components you use,

    - Nick

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to magicniner For This Useful Post:

  6. #4
    Its alright, however for many future reasons IMO its best to use steel shielded cable /CY/ from grid to VFD and from VFD to spindle.
    project 1 , 2, ...

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Boyan Silyavski For This Useful Post:

Similar Threads

  1. FOR SALE: power supply
    By Web Goblin in forum Items For Sale
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 14-09-2014, 02:19 PM
  2. motor power and chinese spindles power HELP
    By DigiSoft in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16-09-2013, 11:17 PM
  3. rep power ???
    By TrickyCNC in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 19-09-2012, 02:57 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25-01-2012, 08:29 PM
  5. i need more power LOL
    By Scott in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-2010, 01:41 PM


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts