. .
  1. Hello!

I'm completely new to CNC Milling and Routing, but pretty desperate to find a way of working with alu. My profession is designing and building synthesizer modules, and for a good while I've had contractors making panels for me with hit-and-miss results in terms of quality, speed and expense.

What I'm after is a CNC milling machine which will CUT and engrave 2mm thick anodised aluminium.

The job needs to be clean, as these alu panels are the customer-facing control panels of my products, so I need to be able to manage swarf, etc. and any cuts need to be clean. I'm not necessarily too picky about precision, however.

I'm looking for something that will fit on a workbench in my studio. Note that it's improbable I'd ever be cutting a panel bigger than 300mm x 130mm.

It needs to interface easily with my existing computers, i.e. USB functionality is preferred.

So far I've been really eyeing this up, but totally unsure if I'm getting a good deal or not. Any help would be hugely appreciated.

Cheers!
    Fin

Hi,

the big issue with anodised aluminum is that is very soft and tends to stick to the endmill which will break it within seconds.

So it is primarily a question of the right tool:

• Single flute bit designed for aluminum. Preferably polished or with a suitable coating to prevent built up of aluminum on its surface. There are large differences between a high quality endmill designed specifically for aluminum from a quality supplier and just a random chinese end mill.
    • Suitable coolant. You don't need to flood the piece - but something like a spray mister will definitively help a lot.
    • But whatever you do - the tools will wear down relatively quick because Aluminum oxide (the anodised layer) is extremely abrasive.

Secondarily the machine:
    • Stiff with no backlash. Otherwise the quality of the cut will look bad and the tools will break prematurely due to vibrations.