Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    Quote Originally Posted by gabi68 View Post
    Since my spindle cable is floating I would like some opinions about how I mount that on the router without affect the stepper lines.

    Many thanks
    Gabi
    I went for the 'safe' option of not running in the router frame at all, although I've noticed that Dean's machines tend to run the spindle cable in some energy chain back to the Y carriage so if you take the precautions you can run it on the machine frame.

    Here is my very old machine but you can see the simple hook arrangement which allows the machine to move around:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	upgrades 031.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	1.05 MB 
ID:	16294

    BUT - if you have this sort of GX16 screw-on connector to the spindle it will work loose on the pins over time and in case you don't know you must not allow a break in the circuit when under power. It will almost certainly kill the VFD stone dead - ask me how I know! :
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cnc_millbed 007.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	1.10 MB 
ID:	16295

    So you can replace the connector with a strain relief grommet (see top of spindle):
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2639.jpg 
Views:	49 
Size:	1.14 MB 
ID:	16297

    Plus solder the cables direct to the motor by removing the end cap.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	spindle_mod 003b.JPG 
Views:	56 
Size:	118.2 KB 
ID:	16299
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	teapot_skirting 003.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	252.7 KB 
ID:	16296  
    Building a CNC machine to make a better one since 2010 . . .
    MK1 (1st photo), MK2, MK3, MK4

  2. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by routercnc View Post
    I went for the 'safe' option of not running in the router frame at all, although I've noticed that Dean's machines tend to run the spindle cable in some energy chain back to the Y carriage so if you take the precautions you can run it on the machine frame.
    Yes when done correctly using shielded cables with correct grounding precautions taken then running VFD cable loosely along side other cables isn't a problem. I do try to run some separation by placing water pipes between cables but still there are places they rub and meet which can't be avoided.

    Regards the Spindle connection then I suggest making some form of bracket to help take the strain off the connector and cables. Here's how I do it.!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0767.jpg 
Views:	60 
Size:	204.1 KB 
ID:	16300 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0768.jpg 
Views:	57 
Size:	181.6 KB 
ID:	16301 Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMAG0775.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	132.5 KB 
ID:	16302
    Last edited by JAZZCNC; 14-10-2015 at 07:39 PM.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Water cooled / air cooled 2.2kw spindle
    By suesi34e in forum Generic Chinese Spindles
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 25-02-2015, 04:57 PM
  2. Drawing of water cooled spindle
    By GTJim in forum Spindles & Drive Motors
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-02-2014, 04:21 PM
  3. Do you need to water cool erhm a water cooled spindle?!!
    By HankMcSpank in forum Generic Chinese Spindles
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-10-2013, 09:59 PM
  4. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 18-09-2013, 06:32 AM
  5. water cooled spindle
    By alex wight in forum Generic Chinese Spindles
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-09-2012, 09:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •