Page 7 of 20 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast
  1. #61
    Where can I buy Prox switches for 1.50?

  2. #62
    JAZZCNC's Avatar
    Lives in wakefield, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 16 Hours Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 5-6 years. Has a total post count of 5,724. Received thanks 892 times, giving thanks to others 35 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by uli12us View Post
    Where can I buy Prox switches for 1.50?
    Well here's one 1.40 http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/LJ12A3-4-Z...kAAOSwvt1WQ~SR

    Look harder and you'll buy several of them working out at roughly 1

    Here's the very switch I tested to show how well they work on a router.

    Last edited by JAZZCNC; 28-11-2015 at 05:21 PM.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to JAZZCNC For This Useful Post:


  4. #63
    Excellent. I like your idea that sounds better and much more accurate.
    What confused me was this diagram in the KK01 manual showing that I might need to put extra resistors in the driver wiring as well if I was running 24v through the KK01.
    That put me off.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	kk01_2.png 
Views:	80 
Size:	185.2 KB 
ID:	16653

    Excuse me for being dumb again, what are the prox switches actually looking for - a magnet (target wise)?
    I've looked and can't find any info.

    Look what I got this afternoon - happy days!

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20151128_163554.jpg 
Views:	87 
Size:	423.5 KB 
ID:	16652

    My cousin cut them for me in his engineering shop.
    The CNC mills he's got are serious.
    They are perfect the bearings have dropped in beautifully.
    So I can start building my machine now.

    Thanks Jazz for your excellent input.
    Martin
    Last edited by mturneruk; 28-11-2015 at 06:42 PM.

  5. #64
    Strange, i have asked Ebay (but only for P. switch without sensor) and the lowest price was 3.60.

  6. #65
    JAZZCNC's Avatar
    Lives in wakefield, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 16 Hours Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 5-6 years. Has a total post count of 5,724. Received thanks 892 times, giving thanks to others 35 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by mturneruk View Post
    Excuse me for being dumb again, what are the prox switches actually looking for - a magnet (target wise)?
    I've looked and can't find any info.
    Nothing dumb in not under standing. Would be dumb if you didn't understand and Didn't ask.!!

    They are Inductive sensors so they sense Metal. You can get Sensors that detect Magnets Called HALL Affect sensors. Both are used to do the same job in different conditions.
    Inductive are good for routers because no flying metal chips but on a Mill not so good.!

  7. #66
    JAZZCNC's Avatar
    Lives in wakefield, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 16 Hours Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 5-6 years. Has a total post count of 5,724. Received thanks 892 times, giving thanks to others 35 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by mturneruk View Post
    What confused me was this diagram in the KK01 manual showing that I might need to put extra resistors in the driver wiring as well if I was running 24v through the KK01.
    That put me off.
    Talkiing about Different things there.! Drives use OUTPUT signals meaning they recieve signals being OUTPUT from the BOB.
    INPUTS are expecting to see signals coming INTO the BOB. They are different and separate to each other.

  8. #67
    JAZZCNC's Avatar
    Lives in wakefield, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 16 Hours Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 5-6 years. Has a total post count of 5,724. Received thanks 892 times, giving thanks to others 35 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by uli12us View Post
    Strange, i have asked Ebay (but only for P. switch without sensor) and the lowest price was 3.60.
    Maybe your asking the wrong question.!!

    What you mean P switch without sensor.? PNP with no LED.?

  9. #68
    Neale's Avatar
    Lives in Plymouth, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 6 Hours Ago Has been a member for 3-4 years. Has a total post count of 685. Received thanks 97 times, giving thanks to others 5 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by mturneruk View Post
    Excellent. I like your idea that sounds better and much more accurate.
    What confused me was this diagram in the KK01 manual showing that I might need to put extra resistors in the driver wiring as well if I was running 24v through the KK01.
    That put me off.
    The resistors are to limit the current going into the opto-isolators at the front end of the KK01. In crude terms, these opto-isolators are designed to accept 5V signals so with a higher voltage, you need to limit the input current to a safe value. It's a very straightforward and common thing to do. Those resistors will cost you about 3p each from your local Maplin so no exotic components needed!
    The KK01 needs 5V in any case; the 24V supply is just to feed the limit switches. As Jazz says, the KK01 will still give a 5V output to go to the drives.
    Last edited by Neale; 28-11-2015 at 07:27 PM.

  10. #69
    In your link its "proximity sensor switch", I asked only "Proximity switch". But after the link, I entered the same in the shops question line and the only parts I found cost 2. Not really much more, but indeed a bit strange.

  11. #70
    Quote Originally Posted by uli12us View Post
    In your link its "proximity sensor switch", I asked only "Proximity switch". But after the link, I entered the same in the shops question line and the only parts I found cost 2. Not really much more, but indeed a bit strange.
    I have just ordered these. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/141781789185
    ..Clive

Page 7 of 20 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Chinese 300W DC spindle - is the spindle shaft grounded?
    By HankMcSpank in forum Spindles & Drive Motors
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 26-11-2016, 07:25 PM
  2. 1.5Kw Chinese Spindle help
    By Hasanain in forum Generic Chinese Spindles
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-05-2016, 10:38 AM
  3. WANTED: 2.2 KW Chinese Spindle
    By Chaz in forum Items Wanted
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-06-2013, 10:03 AM
  4. Electronics upgrade for an existing machine.
    By Shinobiwan in forum Electronic Project Building
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18-03-2012, 04:01 PM
  5. WANTED: Spindle holder for 1.5kw Chinese spindle.
    By jcb121 in forum Items Wanted
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 14-10-2011, 02:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •