Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
  1. #1
    bee's Avatar
    Lives in Rochester, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 29-05-2016 Has been a member for 3-4 years. Has a total post count of 6. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 2 times.
    So my Kress died (can't complain, it has served me very well), and I decided to upgrade to a 1.5kW Chinese spindle. So far it's been a lot of work to install it, and I still haven't decided where to place the vdf, so I do hope the new spindle will be every bit as amazing as it's reputed to be.

    And now I found out I need CY cable between the vfd and the spindle, so I have some re-wiring to do (through cable tracks, oh!)

    My question is which would be the correct core thickness of that CY cable for my use: 0.75mm, 1mm, 1.5mm?

    Bernard

  2. #2
    I would use 0.75mm or 1mm CY 4 core 0.75mm will be fine
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Clive S For This Useful Post:

    bee

  4. #3
    bee's Avatar
    Lives in Rochester, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 29-05-2016 Has been a member for 3-4 years. Has a total post count of 6. Received thanks 1 times, giving thanks to others 2 times.
    Thanks! I've ordered the 0.75mm because I it'll be a bit thinner and I assume nicer to handle.

  5. #4
    Quote Originally Posted by bee View Post
    Thanks! I've ordered the 0.75mm because I it'll be a bit thinner and I assume nicer to handle.
    It is thinner and lighter but it should be 1.5mm2. 0.75mm is OK for control signals but actually too thin for the power.

  6. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by A_Camera View Post
    It is thinner and lighter but it should be 1.5mm2. 0.75mm is OK for control signals but actually too thin for the power.
    I still think 0.75mm is fine the motor is 1.5Kw 3 phase and quite short. There are many people using that on this forum.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  7. #6
    Here is a chart showing what each size is rated at:



    Here is a list showing the watts to amps conversions:

    WATTS TO AMPS CONVERSION

    60 Watts = 0.26 Amp
    100 Watts = 0.43 Amp
    200 Watts = 0.87 Amp
    300 Watts = 1.30 Amp
    400 Watts = 1.74 Amp
    500 Watts = 2.17 Amp
    600 Watts = 2.61 Amp
    700 Watts = 3.04 Amp
    800 Watts = 3.48 Amp
    900 Watts = 3.91 Amp
    1000 Watts = 4.35 Amp
    1100 Watts = 4.78 Amp
    1200 Watts = 5.22 Amp
    1300 Watts = 5.65 Amp
    1400 Watts = 6.09 Amp
    1500 Watts = 6.52 Amp
    1600 Watts = 6.96 Amp
    1700 Watts = 7.39 Amp
    1800 Watts = 7.83 Amp
    1900 Watts = 8.26 Amp
    2000 Watts = 8.70 Amp
    2100 Watts = 9.13 Amp
    2200 Watts = 9.57 Amp
    2300 Watts = 10.00 Amp
    2400 Watts = 10.43 Amp
    2500 Watts = 10.87 Amp
    2600 Watts = 11.30 Amp
    2700 Watts = 11.74 Amp
    2800 Watts = 12.17Amp
    2900 Watts = 12.61 Amp
    3000 Watts = 13.04 Amp
    3100 Watts = 13.48 Amp
    3200 Watts = 13.91 Amp
    3300 Watts = 14.35 Amp
    3400 Watts = 14.78 Amp
    3500 Watts = 15.22Amp

    .Me
    Last edited by Lee Roberts; 26-05-2016 at 09:26 AM.
    .Me

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Lee Roberts For This Useful Post:


  9. #7
    Lee that is helpful but the chart does not show if the cables are in free space or bunched together in one sleeve as the cable will have to be derated when bunched because of heat build up.

    Edit Lee the Watts to Amps conversion has to state the voltage I know you have it done at 230V
    Last edited by Clive S; 26-05-2016 at 09:40 AM.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  10. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Clive S View Post
    Lee that is helpful but the chart does not show if the cables are in free space or bunched together in one sleeve as the cable will have to be derated when bunched because of heat build up.

    Edit Lee the Watts to Amps conversion has to state the voltage I know you have it done at 230V
    OK, to clarify:

    Cg represents the derating factor for grouping cables.

    A cable with a current rating of 6 amp installed in trunking alongside other circuits, that's circuits not cables!, would now have a Cg value, the Cg value is 0.57.

    This means the cable current rating becomes: 6 x 0.57, that's 3.42 amp.

    To add to this, you should note that the grouping factors are based on assumption, the assumption that all of the cables in the group are carrying their rated current.

    So, if however a cable is not going to be carrying more than 30% of its grouped current rating, that cable can actually be omitted from the group rating calculation...

    ...an example, if you've got lets say 6 circuits in a group of cables but 1 of those cables is known to be operating below the said 30% consistently, you can safely calculate the group on the basis that it only consists of 5 circuits.

    Here are some correction factors for multicore cable:




    OK Clive, how did I do?

    .Me
    Last edited by Lee Roberts; 26-05-2016 at 10:50 AM.
    .Me

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Lee Roberts For This Useful Post:


  12. #9
    OK Clive, how did I do?
    Fine Lee I was not taking the p#'@s I just thought that the Voltage had to be added etc for the sake of people with no knowledge of sparky stuff.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

  13. #10
    Lee, what works is not the same as what is safe and what is recommended.

    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electr...United_Kingdom

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Skärmklipp.JPG 
Views:	203 
Size:	55.0 KB 
ID:	18513

    That is a more realistic and better data, even if you step down one size, 1.5mm2 is what should be used. 0.75mm2 is for small desk lamps, not for motors. Then again, I know most people never really use their spindles at maximum load, so it is never really going to be a problem and in many cases even 0.5mm2 might be OK, but I think 1.5mm2 is the minimum if you want to play it safe. My 1.5kW is rated 8A and I am pretty convinced that saving on cable costs is not a good decision. Also, if you ever decide to use a vector controlled spindle you will notice that it pulls more current as well, so what is the point of under dimensioning the cable?
    Last edited by A_Camera; 26-05-2016 at 01:28 PM.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 1.5 kw Chinese spindle cable
    By 142victoria in forum Generic Chinese Spindles
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-11-2015, 09:53 AM
  2. motor and spindle cable size?
    By paulus.v in forum General Electronics
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-02-2014, 10:18 PM
  3. Ballscrew Thickness!
    By AdCNC in forum Lead Screws, Nuts & Supports
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 03-02-2014, 06:01 AM
  4. Adding earth cable to 2.2Kw Chinese Spindle
    By Dwayne Dibbley in forum Generic Chinese Spindles
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-03-2013, 04:04 PM
  5. VFD Cable and 2.2kw spindle wiring
    By Flamered in forum Spindles & Drive Motors
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24-08-2012, 07:29 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •