. .
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
  1. Hey guys, my name is Andy! I'm a mechanical engineering student who's passionate about CNC machines

Over the last couple of years, I've had the chance to use some really intense CNC machines, from huge cutters for 4 inch steel plate to little Shapeokos. I fell in love with CNCing and decide to build my own.

After designing a simple and effective design from the ground up, I realized that this machine might be something I could share with everyone else.

For the last couple of months, I have been designing and prototyping what will be the world's most affordable CNC machine. You can check out our site here at www.sienci.com.

I just wanted to share this project with you guys and get your feedback. What do you want in a desktop CNC machine? What do you dislike about current CNC machines? What would you do with your machine? And most importantly: Would you buy it?

I would love your comments and feedback!

Thanks,

Andy Lee

Lives in Marple Stockport, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 17 Hours Ago Forum Superstar, has done so much to help others, they deserve a medal. Has been a member for 9-10 years. Has a total post count of 3,333. Received thanks 618 times, giving thanks to others 78 times. Made a monetary donation to the upkeep of the community. Is a beta tester for Machinists Network features.
    I would love your comments and feedback
    Andy welcome to the forum and I wish you well with your venture, But you can hardly call that a CNC machine it is more like a toy for icing cakes. If you look at the video of the Z axis it is wobbling al over what do you expect to cut with it.
    ..Clive
    The more you know, The better you know, How little you know

Take a look at http://www.vicious1.com/ same intention and that one will cut aluminium badly soft woods and plastics quite well, as Clive says a cutter will just bounce off the item without sufficient rigidity in the design.