. .

Thread: Home forging

Hi folks,
    Started looking at some small home forge projects for scrap aluminium stock to machine on the cheap/free. Anyone have any experience with this, &/or can point us in a good direction for tips etc?
    Using the myfordboy from Youtube setup as a basis.
    cheers
    Jay

Melting, Smelting, Casting perhaps?
    Forging implies the use of hammer and/or press work to form a product.
    Nothing wrong with having a play but unless you're getting your gas FOC what's cheap or free about it?
    Ron Reill's site has better burner designs.

Yes melt/smelt/cast is what I mean. Sorry for any confusion, everything I've been reading has referred to the whole process as forging so I thought thats the word for the job. We're actually going to have a go at the 'Oliver' burner, as it doesn't need a blower.
    I'm quite surprised if no one does this, melting down scrap strikes me as quite the saving for a home workshop. Being an amateur mechanic I've already earmarked a bunch of dead parts that would have gone to the pikeys scrap run that I can now put to good use.
    Gas may become a costing, but we have a semi free supply of patio gas, hopefully be fine for aluminium temps.

You can cast parts that can't reasonably be machined, that's a great reason to melt aluminium and other metals, I have a propane fired furnace rated for 2gk of Iron, although it sees more lead/antimony than iron or aluminium.
    If it's for parts you are machining you may be better with bought stock where that works for form of the parts, you will not match the tensile strength of commercially manufactured bar or plate stock with home cast and without testing facilities you will not know the exact composition of what you're throwing in the pot or pouring out of it.