Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
  1. #11
    spindle encoder? do you mean rpm feedback into mach?

    the spindle doesn't affect the atc in any way. the z needs to be at the correct height so the atc disk can collect the tool, that's it.

    I don't use any temp sensors

    Quote Originally Posted by RocketBoy View Post
    Hi Andy,

    Thanks for the advice so far. I'm poor in money and time so I'm going to have to break this down into smaller chunks. So I'll concentrate on the spindle drive and control and get a V5 card. Can you tell me what you used for the spindle encoder, did you buy this or make it? Any pictures you could send me please?

    I do have a few more questions regarding the spindle, I've watched a few videos on YouTube of the ATC mechanism working. it looks like the spindle is positioned and locked in place, is there a mechanism within the motor spindle assembly that clicks in to do this? Or is aligned with the slot on the encoder and then motor braking is applied?

    Do I need to have any more inputs to the Sprint card such as breaking and the Taco? Lastly I have a temperature sensor wired in the spindle motor, does this do anything, do I need to use it?

    Cheers

    Mike

  2. #12
    Chaz's Avatar
    Lives in Ickenham, West London, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 14 Hours Ago Has been a member for 3-4 years. Has a total post count of 597. Received thanks 14 times, giving thanks to others 17 times.
    Quote Originally Posted by andy_con View Post
    spindle encoder? do you mean rpm feedback into mach?

    the spindle doesn't affect the atc in any way. the z needs to be at the correct height so the atc disk can collect the tool, that's it.

    I don't use any temp sensors
    Ive done a Denford Triac mod to a CS Labs unit. I can help answer a few questions.

    1. The spindle drive needs to be isolated. A new sprint 1220i drive is around £250.
    2. The ATC needs that Z is set roughly at Z + 30 from home. This is set for me via my macro for M6 in Mach 3.

  3. #13
    You do not need a new sprint card, ignore that advice. You just need to use a v4 or v5 board, they work perfectly

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to andy_con For This Useful Post:


  5. #14
    Gents,

    Been away for a while, just catching up now. Thanks for all the input been very useful, especially Andy. Think I have enough to be getting on with now, sure I will have more questions down the line.

    Mike

  6. #15
    hi
    im rob i now own diycnc
    im always open to sugestions to improving products
    cheers rob

  7. #16
    Quote Originally Posted by RocketBoy View Post
    Evening all,

    Really need some advice and help on how and what I need to control the spindle on my new Triac with MACH3. The machine as received is completely stripped of all electronics except for the spindle motor (SEM MT30U4-36) and drive card (Sprint 1200). So far I have managed to wire up the spindle motor and drive board and control it via a 10k pot and verify all works OK (Phew).

    The Mill also has an ATC unit that I will add to the conversion later on. What I'm trying to understand is how to control the spindle for the ATC alignment.

    My other question is could this setup be used for ridged tapping? I read somewhere that you would need to convert the spindle to an axis via software so the Z and spindle movements can be synchronised.

    The spindle motor has a Taco built in, can MACH use this for position or would I need to make a separate encoder disk with a slot and sensor?

    Lastly what BOB would people recommend, I would need this to control the spindle and ATC plus limit switches etc or would a PLC be better for the ATC??

    Lots of questions I know, if anyone could point me in the right direction I would be most grateful.

    Cheers

    Mike
    Hi, Do you still have the motion control card (electronics) you stripped off the machine. Precisely, I need a working “baldor D281 motion control card for a Triac P. C. (denford), red 7-segment LED display type". The firmware is ESMINT 3.28 V1.6H/S - JD5. Cheers.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Denford Triac VMC
    By fidia in forum Milling Machines, Builds & Conversions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-08-2016, 08:18 AM
  2. FOR SALE: Denford Triac
    By asto in forum Items For Sale
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-02-2016, 08:28 PM
  3. 3kw Chinese Spindle - ER20 denford triac question
    By andy_con in forum Denford Mills
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-11-2015, 10:14 PM
  4. eBay: Denford Novamill SmartStep Control Board + Spindle Board
    By danielbriggs in forum Items On eBay UK
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-05-2013, 06:52 AM
  5. Denford Triac Spindle Fault
    By Sam_Smith in forum Denford Mills
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-05-2011, 11:07 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •