PDA

View Full Version : Temperamental spindle

mark84
23-08-2017, 04:34 PM
Hi,
a few years ago JazzCNC built me a router, however this last year I've had a reoccurring issue- the spindle either stops after a few mins, or more typically just doesn't start, the VFD has no reaction to mach3, even hammering the spindle button on mach3 has rarely worked.
Normally it's just a minor niggle - I leave it for switched off an hour and it magically works again (any less than an hour and it doesn't!?) but today it did 4 mins work and then decided no more, and the VFD hasn't reacted to mach3 since.
I've tried2 PC's, and changed the Ethernet cable, but neither has made a difference.
I'm not too technically minded, but maybe someone can help (Dean??)- I have taken a pic of the VFD, I've no idea why!
All I can tell you is the taped off wire is because the water pump was playing up a while ago and so I disconnected it- it's not made much difference as I haven't run any long toolpaths since, and it's sadly not corrected the issue!
Cheers for any thoughts, it's been a stressful day!
Mark22665

Clive S
23-08-2017, 06:36 PM
OK Mark Have you tried shorting the FOR (green/yellow wire) and the DCM (black wire) terminals together.

Remove them from the terminal block and link the two terminals. the motor then should run. That will prove if the relay on the bob is faulty

mark84
23-08-2017, 08:05 PM
OK Mark Have you tried shorting the FOR (green/yellow wire) and the DCM (black wire) terminals together.

Remove them from the terminal block and link the two terminals. the motor then should run. That will prove if the relay on the bob is faulty