PDA

View Full Version : MicroRouter Spindle upgrade - advice and help required



ngwagwa
04-04-2019, 03:28 PM
Hi, as will become apparent I am new to all of this.

I have aquired a Denford MicroRouter that has been modified to run on Mach3 using what I believe is the original Cable Porter spindle. What I want to do is fit a new spindle with an ER collet so I can use smal (1.0 dia) cutters to finish components that have been semi-finished on a different machine. As I would still like to use the router for machining wood I would ideally like to find a spindle that will run off the existing electronics.

The on/off and speed of the spindle fitted is controlled by a Spindle V5 board (https://0201.nccdn.net/4_2/000/000/071/260/spindleV5x.pdf). I have attached pictures of all the other internals in case information on them is needed.

Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

25626
25627
25628
25625

andy_con
05-04-2019, 10:42 AM
buy a 6mm collet for the current porter cable spindle
then buy a 1mm cutter with a 6mm shank (ebay)

job done, very easy, save loads of money and time


Hi, as will become apparent I am new to all of this.

I have aquired a Denford MicroRouter that has been modified to run on Mach3 using what I believe is the original Cable Porter spindle. What I want to do is fit a new spindle with an ER collet so I can use smal (1.0 dia) cutters to finish components that have been semi-finished on a different machine. As I would still like to use the router for machining wood I would ideally like to find a spindle that will run off the existing electronics.

The on/off and speed of the spindle fitted is controlled by a Spindle V5 board (https://0201.nccdn.net/4_2/000/000/071/260/spindleV5x.pdf). I have attached pictures of all the other internals in case information on them is needed.

Any help/advice greatly appreciated.

25626
25627
25628
25625

cropwell
05-04-2019, 10:58 AM
buy a 6mm collet for the current porter cable spindle
then buy a 1mm cutter with a 6mm shank (ebay)

job done, very easy, save loads of money and time

If you can get a 1/8" collet, then there is a whole world of cheap cutters out there.

ngwagwa
05-04-2019, 12:09 PM
Hi, as well as the Porter cable being an open motor I was also worried about the run out. I am will be using some long reach ball neck tools so need to get down to a 3mm fillet. https://www.cutwel.co.uk/filedepository/product-images/importimages/thumbnails/e5e85-1_800_800_170703054138.jpg

andy_con
05-04-2019, 12:13 PM
Hi, as well as the Porter cable being an open motor I was also worried about the run out. I am will be using some long reach ball neck tools so need to get down to a 3mm fillet. https://www.cutwel.co.uk/filedepository/product-images/importimages/thumbnails/e5e85-1_800_800_170703054138.jpg

if your concerned about accuracy then a 500 route probably isn't the best for the job.

ngwagwa
05-04-2019, 12:21 PM
Accuracy of the part isn't critical, the long reach tools are the only way I can cut the required profiles.

andy_con
05-04-2019, 01:14 PM
Accuracy of the part isn't critical, the long reach tools are the only way I can cut the required profiles.

it seems a huge amount of work, for very little gain. but I suppose if its the only way to make the part then there is no other option.

id also be very surprised if you could find a suitable spindle that is a straight swap.

ngwagwa
05-04-2019, 02:48 PM
I didn't expect to be able to do a straight swap (though it would be nice). Would I be better looking at a new spindle and building a new control box for it? It would certainly make swapping between spindles easier/

cropwell
05-04-2019, 02:54 PM
The BoB you have, I am certain, has 0-10v output to control spindle speed with a VFD and Spindle setup, so you don't need any more electronics apart from the VFD. The rest is setting it up in Mach3.

ngwagwa
05-04-2019, 03:04 PM
The BoB you have, I am certain, has 0-10v output to control spindle speed with a VFD and Spindle setup, so you don't need any more electronics apart from the VFD. The rest is setting it up in Mach3.

Thanks, so which spindle should I be looking at bearing in mind it is for finishing only so RPM is more important than power.

andy_con
05-04-2019, 03:07 PM
you may need a new psu to meet the spec of the new spindle

cropwell
05-04-2019, 05:11 PM
Thanks, so which spindle should I be looking at bearing in mind it is for finishing only so RPM is more important than power.

I can't recommend any spindles as I do not know the run-outs of any. I would reckon a 2.2KW spindle and VFD kit would probably do, but it sounds as though you would want quality rather than cheap Chinese.

ngwagwa
05-04-2019, 07:03 PM
I probably can't afford quality so would settle for Chinese.

Doddy
06-04-2019, 08:11 AM
Have you seen this? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfryQr10nbo - someone has added a 1.5kW spindle to a micro router.

ngwagwa
06-04-2019, 08:17 AM
Thanks for that it's ust what I am aiming at.

ngwagwa
26-04-2019, 04:08 PM
Just a quick update to let you all know the outcome.

I ended up buying a serial to RS-485 adapter (less than 3 on fleabay) and downloaded a plugin to ebable Mach3 to control my spindle directly.

The new spindle is fitted and running and I was originally using a 5 gallon drum for a water reservoir but this didn't stop the temperature hitting the mid forties centigrade during the hot Easter weekend. I have to point out my workshop is upstairs and the room temperature was in the low thirties. As downstairs is always a lot cooler and having plenty of plastic pipe to hand I simply added about 15 metres of pipe to the outet and ran this downstairs then bak to the tank which solved the cooling problem.

ngwagwa
26-05-2019, 02:52 PM
Finally have the time to cut a job for which the spindle was purchased.

https://youtu.be/Ql1cm6tKDV0