PDA

View Full Version : Worn leadscrew?

Husky1
26-12-2019, 10:12 PM
I wonder what would cause this error on my parts. Till recently, all worked well, but on my last 5 parts i noticed error on x axis. It is the same error on all 5 parts. It is cut circle and there are also 40 x 7.1mm holes made circular around that circle. Error is 0.5mm only on x direction. See the illustration bollow what i mean:

https://i.imgur.com/wB1vJnK.png

The holes positions have same error, so i assume it is worn leadscrew / nut, but when i move the x axis by hand, i dont feel any movement, so i wonder, is this mechanical error or is there some electrical issue? i use chinese servo motors (bst motion, krs?? 400w) and cslab csmio ips controller.

Husky1
28-12-2019, 09:43 PM
anyone?

Doddy
29-12-2019, 04:05 AM
I've a couple of questions - really out of curiosity (and boredom - 2 weeks away from my machines) than progression to a solution, and I have zero experience of servos. But you should be able to answer the following with only a short time in the workshop.

Firstly, what, if anything, has changed since the machine worked well? I'm assuming that you'll reply will you have not deliberately changed anything.

Presumably you can swap the drive/positional feedback between the X/Y servos?, have you tried this?, what's the result? Then repeat with swapping the X/Y servo drivers. You should be able to isolate to either servo or driver in error... if not, then it's likely mechanical.

You don't mention: Is your part a progressive multi-depth cut?, If you was losing steps then you would expect any error to accumulate and might expect to witness this as you cut through the material. I'm inferring from your post that this (accumulated error) is not the case, and the error is repeatable.

You don't mention: If you move the workpiece centre elsewhere on the X axis and repeat the cut does the problem remain? If it did this would tend not to support the leadscrew argument.