PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade to 3040T Machine Table/Bed, options?

davitc
14-01-2020, 09:10 AM
I have a 3040T with a movable gantry and 800w VFD. The machine was described as large in Amazon and I am quite happy with all but the less than rigid extruded aluminium table which just vibrates too much. https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B07FYGW47F/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o09_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I would like to machine some aluminium but mainly wood and plastic i.e. Acrylic/HDPE of upto 200mm square by 40mm thick. Use of a spoil board is not necessarily important.

I've seen this link https://mbcreates.com/cnc-router/cnc-6040-machine-bed-upgrade/ my machine is very similar but I think just a smaller scale, without Linear rails and the 2.2kw VFD.

I consider my options are below as I have no access to any other engineering machinery although I was a semi-skilled engineer/toolmaker/machinist for 18 years up to 14 years ago when I changed career:

1. Get a piece of Aluminuim 30mm thick cast tooling plate cut to the size of the table and bolt it down to the useless extrusion or the frame
2. Get a piece of steel plate, mount that to the frame and then mount either a T-Slot board from Vacuum tables or a piece of thinner aluminium tooling plate
3. Get a piece of steel t-slot plate (https://vacuumtables.co.uk/steel-t-slot-plates/standard/steel-t-slot-plate-6030) and mount it direct to the frame.

I know I am never going to improve the machine greatly but I also have the problem that I live in a flat with no external building suitable for use with anything bigger. I would love one of those Desktop HAAS machines but I'm not sure I can get them in the UH and would probably be horrendously expensive.

JAZZCNC
14-01-2020, 09:20 PM
I would love one of those Desktop HAAS machines but I'm not sure I can get them in the UH and would probably be horrendously expensive.