PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Hi from Glasgow

bartdietrich
14-04-2020, 09:04 PM
Hi all,

I'm a hobbyist based in Glasgow. I know my way around electronics, 3D printers and programming but am new to machining. A couple of years ago I bought a cheap used desktop CNC mill from eBay intending to use it to route/drill printed circuit boards. This seemed like a good idea especially for double-sided boards where layer alignment can be an issue. For two years I haven't done anything with it, usually blaming lack of time and the fact that I'm quite good at aligning layers on double-sided boards for the usual etching techniques. What with the virus going around and me being stuck at home, I don't really have the lack of time excuse anymore so I dug up the mill and decided to give it a go.

It's a cheap Chinese job I think (see photo, I bought it second-hand from someone in the UK so can't be certain but it looks like some I've seen online). I extended the x and y axes by 10 cm so as to be able to do the largest PCBs I would ever normally do. The mill basically works. I'm getting usable results (ok but not amazing): I realise I can't expect too much for £120. It's got a few issues which I'm trying to iron out one at a time as I'm familiarising myself with it. The latest is that the z-axis rods have a bit of play inside their bushings so that as the tool touches the PCB surface and begins pressing down, it slides forward on the copper surface by a tiny distance before penetrating it while the motor carriage repositions itself as much as the play between the z-rods and bushings will allow. I've ordered some Igus bushings: hopefully they'll be a tighter fit and sort that particular problem.